The Pit of Despair

19 Oct

Aka, my desk. I cleaned it off yesterday, but even when it’s “clean,” it’s still pittish-looking. The cleaning usually begins with me making 3 stacks of paper: file, recycle, shred, then a fourth stack becomes necessary: HOLY COW TAKE CARE OF THIS NOW BECAUSE IT’S BEEN BURIED IN THIS PIT FOR TOO LONG! It’s mostly doctor bills or notes from school that should have been dealt with three days before the de-pittifying of the desk.

Wanna see the Pit?

So my HOLY COW pile is pretty small today. I think there are three bills there. So what did I do after I snapped this pic? I plopped my laptop down on top of the HOLY COW pile. I moved the mail, though. Had to – it was too thick for the laptop to be on. When I was in the shower after I took the picture, inspiration struck. I’m moving the fax machine out to the garage with the other seld0m-used appliances: bread machine, medium-sized crock pot, rice steamer, old coffee pot. Then I can move my pink-clad manuscript back a bit and hope it doesn’t fall off the edge. There’s nothing back there in that corner. You can see there’s a little plastic drawer unit to the left of the desk, but it’s only 18″ deep and the desk is much deeper. So that corner back there is a pit of its own. Can’t reach back there to retrieve anything.

Yesterday I cleaned off the Pit because stuff started stacking up elsewhere – the dining room table which has been taken over as Halloween Costume HQ. On that front, I’ve finished 2 costumes (Baby K’s Minnie Mouse and A’s Annabeth from the Percy Jackson books), but I still have a minotaur head (hence the blue poster board) for C and J’s whole Lucy Pevensie costume (from the Prince Caspian movie). No pattern for either the head or Lucy’s dress, so I’m stalling a bit on those. Probably why I decided to attack the pit yesterday.

Speaking of seldom-used appliances, I pulled out the bread machine yesterday. I started some Colonial bread about 4 hours ago and it smells heavenly. I’m signing off now to go have some hot, fresh bread. Maybe I’ll bring some over here to the Pit while I work on getting my SFA manuscript ready to send out again. Then I can get oily butter marks on the pile of stuff I don’t know what to do with.

 

Just click here to vote. Nothing more required of you. Thanks!

5 Responses to “The Pit of Despair”

  1. That Nolen Chick October 19, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    P.S. The bread was FAB! I had two slices and it didn’t last long enough to get anything on my desk but crumbs as I licked my fingers clean.

  2. Reading (and chickens) October 19, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    What’s SFA stand for?

    • That Nolen Chick October 19, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

      Stephen F. Austin, the father of Texas. All Texas kindergarteners have to learn about him, but there are no age-appropriate books about him.

  3. Elizabeth Myers October 19, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    I’m looking at your photo and I just realized my entire apartment is the pit of despair… crap.

    • That Nolen Chick October 20, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

      Notice you can’t see the rest of my house…total Pittsville.

Talk to me!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 455 other followers

