What’s On Your Reading List?

10 Jun

I saw a link for an interesting site the other day – I Write Like. You cut and paste a sample of your writing into a little box and their magic elves (or statistical analytic tools) will tell you which famous writers your sample is similar to.

The first time I tried it using this post (the smiley face made out of letters), and my result was that I write like Stephen King. Cool. The second time I cut and pasted my post about vehicle anxiety, it was David Foster Wallace, then I used another post (not sure which one) and got Margaret Atwood. Both Wallace and Atwood are award-winning authors, so it’s not a bad thing that I write like either one.

However, not being satisfied yet, I cut and pasted a huge chunk of my manuscript (the one mined from my blog back in 2006 when we lived in England) and got Cory Doctorow. That name was a little more familiar than Wallace or Atwood, so I decided to check out one of his books. I’m listening to his “Little Brother” right now. It’s a techno-geek young adult novel set in current-day San Francisco. I’m not sure how I feel about it yet – technology and pop culture meet the Patriot Act and massive paranoia follows.

Am-reading. Actually, I’m listening to it.

I’ve also got a book on my Kindle that I bought the other day when Amazon advertised it as the Magic Shining Fabulous Kindle Book of the Day (or whatever they call it). It’s “The Naming” by Alison Croggon and I bought it for a whopping $1.99. From what I have gleaned from reviews, it seems like it’s similar to Robin Hobb books (which I enjoy, but which are also sometimes tedious to get through).

Am-reading. Actually reading this one with my eyeballs.

Those are my two books on my active am-reading list. I’ve got a few more tucked away on a to-read list, but I’m not going to worry about them until I finish one or the other of these two.

Now I want to know – what’s on your list?

3 Responses to “What’s On Your Reading List?”

  1. aplaceforrene June 10, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    I love this!
    I have 2 different stacks. One is 12 books high as I prepare to take on homeschooling, so of course I avoid that stack and indulge in my ‘fun’ stack. This pile has Ted Dekker’s newest Mortal (I’ve just started), Francine Rivers’ The Scarlet Thread, John Lescroart’s Rasputin’s Revenge, American Wife by Curtis Sittenfeld and a non-fic Jolly Wicked, Actually by Tony Thorne :) I LOVE books!

  2. Shannon June 11, 2012 at 8:03 am #

    I finished the Rose Trilogy by Beverly Lewis yesterday, and now I’m reading The Magician’s Nephew (The Chronicles of Narnia.) I also read chapters from a devotional for mothers called Don’t Make Me Come Up There! I can’t remember the author’s name.

    I tend to keep it pretty light, familiar, and drama-free when I’m pregnant. I get a little involved with my books and the last thing I need is more emotion. Ha!

  3. Brenda Houlton Kelley June 11, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    I’m reading Total Memory Makeover by Marilu Henner (actress, author, rememberer extraordinaire!) and several other miscellaneous books regarding math, study habits and getting into college as debt-free as possible.

    As for “I Write Like” and the possible motives of the website, visit http://nielsenhayden.com/makinglight/archives/012502.html for another viewpoint.

Talk to me!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 455 other followers

