Colorado Has Interesting Thrift Stores

3 Jul

After our family reunion, we spent a day at my grandmother’s house. I decided to take the kids downtown for a little souvenir shopping. At the end of our shopping excursion, we made a quick trip into a thrift store.

I’ve visited this store before. It’s trippy. A friend bought a purple fuzzy Huggy Bear-ish pimp hat there years ago. (Potassium, check with Cobalt to make sure I got the details of that right). Anyway, I found a few interesting things inside.

It’s Mighty!

I don’t know what I like most – the name of the record, or some of the song titles. I bet even “Johnny One Note” is exciting when played by Mr. Daly on the Mighty Pipe Organ! And I didn’t know roses were mighty. I bet it’s because of the organ.

After I perused the records and 8-track tapes (bought Hubs Volume 2 of Johnny Cash’s greatest hits – never heard of any of them, though), I went into the thrift store’s boutique area. Check out what I found (and purchased), because Tardie Sue needed some new shoes.

Ooh la la!

Whatever you’re thinking…I KNOW! Aren’t they…something?

When I left the store, this is what I saw across the street.

Hmm

I thought this branch of spirituality was limited to the West Coast, Tom Cruise, and John Travolta, not small Colorado farming communities. Odd.

Hope you enjoyed my hard-hitting series on Colorado and its freaky laundromats, shiny houses, and interesting thrift stores.

4 Responses to “Colorado Has Interesting Thrift Stores”

  1. Shannon July 3, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

    That thrift store was chock full of, ahem, treasures.

  2. LookingfortheSweetSpot July 4, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    Fun! I love thrift stores!

  3. kelleysbreakroom July 16, 2012 at 7:18 am #

    Don’t even get me started about that stupid Dianetics business. They used to be set up across from my university (in Austin). Weirdos. Love the shoes! Love, love the name of that record. Ha!

    (Thanks for linking this up with us over at #findingthefunny a couple of weeks ago!)

  4. kelleysbreakroom July 16, 2012 at 7:19 am #

    This may be a duplicate comment… Sorry!

    I was just saying that the weird Dianetics people were set up across from my university in Austin. Oddballs! Love the shoes and LOVE the name of that pipe record. Ha!

    (Thanks for linking this up with us over at #findingthefunny a couple of weeks ago!)

Talk to me!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 455 other followers

