And Now For Something A Little Different – “Fruit of My Spirit” by Deanna Nowadnick

20 Jul

Over the weekend I read, “Fruit of My Spirit: Reframing Life in God’s Grace” by Deanna Nowadnick. A quick read, I got through most of it while getting a pedicure.

Nowadnick’s book is a gentle tale about decades-long processes in her life that weren’t so gentle. I like her statement in the preface – “As I go forth with God, my efforts to reframe life’s experiences are not just redecorating projects, they’re an opportunity to look back and see His love and forgiveness, to recognize the fruit of His Holy Spirit in my life.”

Through nine different episodes from her life, Nowadnick takes memories of negative experiences and looks more closely to discover God’s love, provision, and patience. I appreciate how, instead of focusing solely on how the fruits of the spirit manifest in human lives, she paints a picture of how God was ever-present with her, displaying those fruits through His care. For example, in the “Joy” chapter, she talks about how she played violin as a child and loved it, then, as a teenager, grew into a place where she no longer enjoyed playing. Her parents sold her instrument, and she was done with it. Decades later, she rediscovered her desire to play music, purchased a violin, and began playing with the worship team at her church. Instead of kicking herself over giving up the violin as a capricious teen and lamenting the years lost, she was able to joyfully embrace music again, recognizing that while the desire to play might have waned in the intervening years, God still wanted her to worship Him musically when she was older.

I think this book will inspire readers to look at their own lives and experiences to see how the same fruits were active and at work around them during difficult times in their own lives.

More information about the author and book can be found here: Christian Women Affiliate Review Crew. This book is also available from Amazon in print and Kindle forms.

I received a free copy of this book/Ebook/Product to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations. I am part of The CWA Review Crew.

One Response to “And Now For Something A Little Different – “Fruit of My Spirit” by Deanna Nowadnick”

  1. Deanna Nowadnick July 20, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    Thanks, April! It’s been a blessed journey!

Talk to me!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 455 other followers

