Only slightly freaked out

21 Jun

The kids wanted to sleep in the pop-up camper tonight. Steve is gone (England), it’s summer, and we have no pressing appointments, so I decided it wouldn’t be a big deal to let them. We got Kait down for bed and popped up the camper.

Audrey came in around 9:00, but Caleb & Julie are sleeping out there as I type this. It’s 11:18 p.m., and I’m very hesitant to go to bed, because I’ve got two children sleeping in my backyard. I’m trying to be calm about it. I went out and checked on them a little while ago and I’ll probably put the baby monitor out there before I go to bed. They have a cell phone and I’ll sleep with mine set to full volume on the nightstand.

I don’t want to be an overprotective mom, but it’s hard not to be a little jumpy when I keep hearing something thump against the back door. I know it’s just a big-a** bug, but it’s still freaky. It even wigged the cat out. Her tail got all poufy and her ears flattened against her head as she looked outside. When she figured out it was just a nasty insect, she sat her fluffy rear end down at the door, watching it. She’s in here with me now, but I think at one point she went outside (she has a cat flap) to see if she could catch it for a before-bed snack. Gross.

2 Responses to “Only slightly freaked out”

  1. Judy Cummins June 21, 2011 at 6:15 am #

    Next time, take the monitor with you and sleep in the camper.

  2. That Nolen Chick June 21, 2011 at 7:20 am #

    Yeah – my desire for a decent night’s sleep trumped my worries about random serial killers wandering around in my backyard.

Talk to me!

