The real reason for this blog…

23 Jun

As you may or may not know, I’m working on my first manuscript. It’s a memoir about our six months in England. (Apologies to those of you who have heard about my manuscript before.) The first draft is done and now I’m working on editing it. Actually, that’s a lie. I’m thinking about working on editing it. I wonder if I’m afraid of what lies ahead when I do finish this. If I don’t get published, then I’ll be one of Those People – the eternally aspiring artist. Always hoping, never succeeding. Or worse, I do get noticed by an agent or publisher. Then I’d actually have to deliver.

To be honest, the only thing I’m really scared about is the whole marketing thing. Apparently, writers are expected to market our own material these days. I don’t know how to do that! I don’t want to do that! I want some high-powered marketing department in a New York publishing house to do my marketing for me.

It’s also a good selling point for an author if she can bring along a platform with her manuscript. A platform is an online readership. So here I am, starting my platform. My plan is to read other blogs, comment often, and hopefully drive readership here because my comments will be brilliant and hilarious and people will wonder, “Who is That Nolen Chick?” visit my blog, become part of my online readership, and be viewed by an editor as a potential buyer for my book, “The Marvelous Adventures of the Fabulous Nolens.”

Another reason for the blog is to get me back into the habit of writing every day. If i get my creative juices flowing here, I’ll be able to work smarter, not harder, on my manuscripts. That’s my hope, anyway.

You did read correctly. I wrote manuscriptS. I’m working on an easy reader biography also. Stephen F. Austin. I’ve been playing around with this one for years, but I finally have the confidence to move forward. I bought a book called, “Write a Marketable Children’s Book in 7 Weeks,” written by my friend, Shirley Raye Redmond, who has published 25 books. I trust her. She told me that she uses this method with every book she writes. I admit, I stalled out on writing it last week – I blamed Vacation Bible School – and haven’t gotten back to it. Maybe today. I feel like I can’t juggle both manuscripts. I have to completely focus on one and ignore the other. I don’t think I’m going to have 2 live manuscripts again. This is a pain. I feel like I’m neglecting a child. Guilt abounds.

I’m going to sign off now. My morning coffee is ready, and I needs me some java.

2 Responses to “The real reason for this blog…”

  1. Laura June 23, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    VBS, though I love it, does leave one just tired. Young children are an easy example. Mine get sick every year and I’ve just come to expect it as a parting gift with VBS. I’m thrilled you’ll be writing again daily on a blog. Words are your paintbrush and I so enjoy all of the lovely paintings you share.

  2. iampotassium June 23, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    Cool! I am excited to read your blog (and become part of your platform)! πŸ˜€ Writing every day is such a good exercise. That is sort of why I started my blog too. To write/think about art/photography every day. πŸ™‚

Talk to me!

