Moving-in pains

24 Jun

I got a new phone today.

This is a big deal for me. I have had an original Droid for 16 months. It was my constant companion, the first thing I reached for when I woke up each morning, and the last thing I touched before going to sleep. My phone had killer apps, but small onboard memory, so I was constantly juggling which apps I would actually have installed at any one point because there wasn’t enough memory for some of the programs.

I loved my phone. I spoiled it. I got it a Van Gogh “Starry Night” skin and custom ringtones. Perry the Platypus told me when I got an e-mail, and Kim Possible beeped at me when a text came in. The “Top Gear” theme played whenever Steve called. I was comfortable with my phone and we had a great relationship.

Until I dropped it one too many times.

When I have my phone in my pocket and I go to the restroom, I take it out. I’m paranoid that it’s going to go for a swim in the porcelain pond (that doesn’t have quite the same ring as “Cee-ment pond” from Beverly Hillbillies). Instead of placing it on the back of the toilet like I usually do, I balanced it on the towel bar on the shower door. My poor Droid took a nose dive. The battery door flew off, the battery popped out, and worst of all, part of the slider mechanism broke. My poor phone was hurt!

Because we were getting ready to leave for Santa Fe, I didn’t have time to mess with the phone then. When we got to the SF Children’s Museum, I had a few moments to look at the damage. After futzing with it for a little while, I realized there was no fixing this puppy.

Later that afternoon, I decided to buy a new phone. I got a good deal on a Droid X and placed my order. I waited 48 hours for my new phone to arrive. When it got here, I carefully read the “starting up” guide, followed the directions, and got my new phone up and running.

But that’s when the weirdness started.

Have you ever moved into a nice new place? The carpet is new, the paint is fresh, the appliances are sparkling and lovely, but you have a problem: you didn’t label your boxes so you have no idea where any of your stuff is. That’s how I felt all afternoon. I had to move into my new phone. Had to get all my old apps downloaded and installed onto my X.

It’s been 8+ hours since the X arrived, and I’m still moving in. I can’t find my favorite keyboard app and that’s annoying. I don’t have a decent Facebook app yet (also annoying), and I feel like there are things I’m forgetting. I’m excited to have this new phone, but I’m also uneasy.

Isn’t technology supposed to make our lives easier? o.O

One Response to “Moving-in pains”

  1. Heather June 25, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    Oh My Goodness! I had no idea you were a blogger!!! Just found my new favorite!

Talk to me!

