Pondering the future

10 Jul

As you may know by now, I want to be a writer when I grow up. Seeing as how I turn 38 on Saturday, I guess I’m growing up, so I need to light a fire under myself.

Problem is, I tend to get caught in the “I’ll never be as good as ___, so I might as well hang it up” trap. Right now, I’m filling in that blank with J.K. Rowling. Seriously, though, that woman has some incredible talent. I’m inspired and depressed simultaneously when I read her work.

Speaking of reading work, I’m supposed to be reading lots of memoirs right now as research for my memoir. That sentence doesn’t really make sense – reading others’ life stories as research for my life story? Yes, it’s what I’m doing. Sorta. I stalled out on “A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius.” I get bogged down with books right now. Isn’t that a horrible thing to admit? But between laundry, 4 kids, cooking, keeping the house straight–ish, attempting to keep my garden alive, summer activities, the recent evacu-cation, and my own writing, I feel like I don’t really have time to read.

This is horrible. A writer who doesn’t have time to read? I admit, I’m also a TV junkie. That’s my problem, I guess. But I’ve cut back on some shows with plans to cut back on more. We’ll see how that works out.

Anyway, back to the reading-other-stuff-as-research comment. I’m examining styles, structures, and other technical points of successful memoirs. “Julie & Julia” is another book on my to-read stack, as is “Blood, Bones, & Butter,” and “This is Not the Story You Think It Is.” My stack is over a foot tall and K feels the need to rearrange it often, since it’s on my nightstand – right at her height. Her favorite thing to do is pull out bookmarks.

All right. I’m going to stop feeling sorry for myself (for tonight, anyway) and get to work. How about if I read the next chapter in “Write a Marketable Children’s Book in 7 Weeks” and do some work on my SFA manuscript? Sounds like a plan.

And “Masterpiece Mystery” will be on the TV in the background. It’s Miss Marple – good stuff!

 

Talk to me!

