Second Draft…in the Bag!

11 Jul

Good news!

Second draft of my easy reader is done! I even managed to cut it down by 95 words. Now I need to get it into a manageable form (I wrote it in a table, believe it or not), get a spectacular cover letter with it, and get this puppy submitted. Since it’s a nonfiction book specifically for Texas public schools (it’s about the Father of Texas), I have a marketing plan pretty much lined up, which will be mostly what the cover letter is about.

Did you know that authors these days have to be marketers, too? This stinks, but that’s the way it is.

Anyway, back to my stellar marketing plan. There are roughly 4600 public schools in Texas. One of the historic figures kindergarten teachers have to learn their young ‘uns about is Stephen F. Austin. There are no age-appropriate books about SFA. So that’s my marketing plan in a nutshell.

Age-appropriate book + (at least 9200) kindergarten teachers + (about) 4600 librarians = good marketing plan.

This isn’t taking into account the fact that in 4th grade, Texas history is covered again and there are no easy reader books available for those students not reading on a 4th grade level about SFA. This last point is just a bonus to my stellar marketing plan.

Easy reader + (at least 9200) 4th grade teachers = bonus

Instead of writing my fabulous cover letter now, which I REALLY want to do, I’m going to stop and make dinner. Seems that other people in this house get cranky when they don’t get dinner at a reasonable hour (8:00 is not a reasonable hour, apparently). But to ease my impatience to get back to writing, we’re having Indian food. Tikka Masala with naan. Steve brought it back from England a couple of weeks ago.

Here’s a picture of the gentleman pioneer (which is the title of my book):

One Response to “Second Draft…in the Bag!”

  1. Laura July 13, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    Good for you to finish your manuscript! I’m very proud of all your hard work. 🙂

Talk to me!

