I think it’s going to be a long day

12 Jul

8:51 and already A has been in to tattle. Twice. C & J are in the living room making up a rhyme I probably don’t want to hear because it involves the words “pee” and “butt.” I know this because they’re shouting their rhyme, not because of the tattling. That was because C & J were roughhousing and A was in the line of fire. Or something like that. K is toddling around screeching when someone takes away her “toys” (like colored pencils and TV remote controls).

Wow.

I think it’s going to be a long day.

The kids have already started bugging me to let them play video games. I’m tempted (because it keeps them QUIET), but I also know that when I make them stop playing later, they’ll act like snarky little trolls and lash out at everyone. Especially me. It happens every time.

I have errands to run today, and I think I’ll make their little lives miserable by bringing them along. That’ll teach them. Right? They are totally boring errands, too.

  1. post office to mail my manuscript – yay!
  2. library to return 20-something books, although I might actually let them go in if I’m feeling generous – at this point, it’s not looking good for them
  3. North Mesa to drop something off – for you out-of-towners, that’s a neighborhood that’s almost as far away from our house as you can be and still be in the city limits. It takes 25+ minutes to get there from here. Or 3 hours, if you ask one of the kids.
  4. the movie theater

The movie theater? Yes. My birthday is Saturday and I’m going to see Harry Potter 7b with friends. Our theater lets you in free on  your b-day, but I got word yesterday from my friend after she bought tickets for everyone else that the movie will most likely sell out, so I need to stop by and get a pass so I can still get in. Wouldn’t it suck if I didn’t get to see HP7b at all on my birthday because it sold out? Happy birthday to you – we’ll meet you at McDonald’s for a crappy ice cream after the movie.

On that happy note, I’m done. I need more coffee.

2 Responses to “I think it’s going to be a long day”

  1. Shannon Gale July 12, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    No way, we’d totally meet you at Haagen Dazs for ice cream after. 😉

    I hope your day gets better from here!

  2. That Nolen Chick July 12, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    Aww, Haagen Dazs. You’re a real friend!

Talk to me!

