Nice Moms

28 Jul

A couple of friends posted on Facebook last week about the cool things they do for their kids’ lunches, then they asked their friends to comment about the little things they do to make their kids’ school lunches more fun. Those are a bunch of nice moms. Here are some examples of what nice moms do:

Nice moms put fun napkins in their kids’ lunches.

Nice moms leave little notes in their kids’ lunches.

Nice moms draw smiley faces or put stickers on the baggies, or confetti in the baggies.

Some nice moms even decorate their kids’ sandwiches with those frosting marker things.

What do I do?

I force my kids to take a fruit or veggie, then threaten them with bad things if they don’t eat it. Bad things like, “If you bring home that apple, I’ll put it in your lunch box again tomorrow. And the next day, and the next day until you eat the stupid thing.” Amazingly enough, they haven’t figured out yet that they can throw away the offending food item and lie to me about it. I know this because they bring home the apple, a bit more bruised, or the peeled orange in the baggie, now marinating in the juice from a squished section, or the banana, battered, smooshed, and somewhat blackened from the football-shaped ice pack that gave it a beating during math when nobody was looking, because it’s a piece of stupid fruit. Nobody in 4th grade likes fruit, you wussy banana moron.

Do I feel guilty about not being a nice mom? Well, I didn’t until I read those posts on Facebook.

Think there’s a way I can write “eat the freaking carrots” on their sandwich and be nice about it?

5 Responses to “Nice Moms”

  1. Elizabeth Myers July 28, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    Wussy banana moron… gold.

  2. johnnathanielfernando July 28, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    haha nice! don’t worry, it’s the thought that counts. you don’t have to try so hard to be a cool mom. just do what you think is best for your kids but at the same time, try to observe more how your kids are reacting to your parenting and try to adjust to them too.

  3. Erin July 29, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    Hi! i found you through Blogher. I like your writing, and your parenting skills. you sound a lot like me! 🙂

  4. Laura July 29, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    I also am not nice. I refuse to feel bad about it. I pack healthy things that they need, not just what their little eyes want.

    Walt insists to his MDO teacher that he’s starving. I figured it out–he wants Cheeto’s like the other kids and the cookies they store for children’s church on Sunday. So I pack more food–pretzels and carrot sticks. Starving children eat those things.

    He’s smart, but I’m smarter.

  5. That Nolen Chick February 25, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

    Reblogged this on that nolen chick and commented:

    Recycled from July because today has been a day.

Talk to me!

