Pulling the plug. It’s gonna hurt.

31 Jul

I’m toying with the idea of turning off our Dish channels. Not for financial reasons (although I could use that extra $60/month for something cool like manicures), but for time reasons. Well, time and the fact that I’m a total TV junkie and I’m watching my kids turn into junkies, too.

I don’t watch Oprah or soaps, or any daytime TV, for that matter. The stuff I like isn’t really appropriate for daytime viewing. Not that I’m watching Adult shows (notice the capital A in “adult” to catch my meaning), but I like cop/crime shows and “Big Bang Theory.” As you may or may not know, I have 4 kids under the age of 10. (Well, 3 kids under the age of 10 and a 10-year-old, but who says “4 kids under the age of 11?”) I have enough problems dealing with the annoying things they learn and parrot from their pre-teen Disney shows, I don’t want to have to explain why some random lady is pole dancing on CSI. Or what pole dancing is, for that matter.

Anyway, my whole rationale for turning off the satellite is so I can get more writing done. And so I don’t have to battle the kids when I tell them to go outside and play instead of watching TV after school. I don’t think I’m going to miss much – at least I keep telling myself that. We have a DVR and we’ll still get the local channels, so I’ll have access to all my network favorites. Plus we have Netflix. Stream away.

As I sit here and tell myself that I’ll be fine without the satellite, I realize I’m still filling my future cable-free evenings with recorded and/or streamed shows. Obviously I still have a lot of work to do if I’m going to wean myself off the TV habit.

Gotta run now. My show’s back on.

3 Responses to “Pulling the plug. It’s gonna hurt.”

  1. Sandra August 2, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Yes, as I was reading your post, before I hit the final line, I was thinking, “good luck with that!” I wouldn’t miss the TV but that’s only because my kids are always on it. And if they weren’t on it, they’d be hanging around me.
    I’m sure you will find the strength to do it though. You seem like you have what it takes 🙂

    • That Nolen Chick August 2, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

      I’m already going through pre-withdrawal jitters. I keep telling myself the shakes will only last for a few days when we pull the plug. Maybe I should get a shake weight so that I can at least make my withdrawal trembling worthwhile…because as we all know, those things work. (snicker, chortle)

  2. Erin August 2, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    We got rid of our cable almost a year ago and I thought I was going to die thinking about calling the cable company! I had actually called once before and they had told me that we had a bundle deal and that if we got rid of our cable the phone and internet could go up, so i thought, oh well, forget it… good excuse. But then we had to get rid of it for money reasons, and honestly, it hasn’t been too bad. Almost everything is on the internet and Netflix helps when I need a distraction for the kids. Don’t get me wrong, you’ll definitely go through withdrawals, but I’m confident you can make it through! 🙂

Talk to me!

