Archer’s Goon

1 Aug

Anybody heard of that book? It’s by Diana Wynne Jones. I discovered it when I was in 8th grade. I remember this because it was the same year my brother also discovered it. He was in 6th grade. I’m not sure who found it first in our school library (our jr. high was 6th-9th grades), but we both checked it out several times over the next few years.

I think it took me a couple of readings before I realized it was set in England. In my mind, the protagonist’s house was actually a house I remembered from a neighborhood we lived in for a few years when I was in elementary school, and the museum was the one from my hometown. Funny how that works.

Anyway, it’s a young adult fantasy book. I loved it. Plot twists I could sink my teeth into. I like a book with a nice corkscrew of a plot. Makes me think about it afterward for quite a while. Like “The Time Traveler’s Wife.” I actually liked that one before it became a movie. I haven’t seen the movie yet – don’t want to ruin the book.

Speaking of ruining a book, I just discovered that the BBC did a 6-part TV adaptation of the book back in 1992. I just watched a few minutes of the first episode on YouTube and it’s got promise. We’ll have to see.

After I read Archer’s Goon, I moved on to DWJ’s other books: Fire & Hemlock, Howl’s Moving Castle, Dogstar. I know she wrote more and I read more, but these are the ones I remember from the early/mid 80s. They all have some pretty cool plot twists & turns. I would love to be able to do that kind of writing – leaving readers scratching their heads and revisiting plot points to see how all the strands of story diverged (wildly, in some cases), ran off on unexpected tangents, then converged to complete the narrative.

Maybe some day.

What’s your favorite book?

8 Responses to “Archer’s Goon”

  1. Laura August 2, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    My fave in the high brow, proud of myself for reading category: Pride and Prejudice. Christian: Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers.
    Best book I’ve read recently: Flies on the Butter by Denise Hildreath. Wow. Well-crafted, witty while also really moving. It was one of those books that after it was over I sat, thinking that by reading this amazing book I had actually become a better person. Francine Rivers’ books also have that effect on me.

  2. Christi Wynn August 2, 2011 at 7:36 am #

    I think I must have had those checked out from the jr high library whenever you weren’t reading them! I loved them all and reread them several times, but haven’t thought about them in ages. Need to go put them all on my Amazon wishlist to remind me to hunt them up again!

    • That Nolen Chick August 2, 2011 at 7:39 am #

      Amazon has ’em, Christi! Which one of hers is your favorite?

      • Christi Wynn August 3, 2011 at 6:59 am #

        Archer’s Goon and Fire and Hemlock are the two that have stuck out in my mind, but it has been so many years since I read them! After all this time, it will be like reading them for the first time! I put them on my Amazon list yesterday, now to find the time to get to them!

  3. Penny August 2, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    It’s weird, I don’t know that I have a one favorite book. I have lots that I have love for, The Poisonwood Bible, the Harry Potter series, I really enjoyed The Time Travelers Wife too! And I actually watched the movie, which wasn’t awful, but definitely definitely was no where near the book.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

    • That Nolen Chick August 2, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

      I might have to watch the movie now. But that will be a good excuse to read the book again. It’s been years.

  4. Christi Wynn August 3, 2011 at 7:08 am #

    One of my most favorites books of the last few years is Ahab’s Wife by Sena Jeter Naslund. It was one that I almost literally could not put down. I’m to old to stay up all night reading anymore, but I just had to force myself to close the book and go to bed, and then would jump out of bed early just so I could read a couple of chapters before work.

    Other favorites include The Book Thief, Lonesome Dove, People of the Book, A Wrinkle in Time and of course my all time favorite — To Kill a Mockingbird. I have to stop there because I can talk about books all day if you give me the chance!

Talk to me!

