Favorite Author

2 Aug

Ok – For those of you who have followed me for my long and distinguished blogging career (all 30+ days of it), you may be wondering why I’m all of a sudden talking about things other than my writing or kids. It’s because I’m participating in the NaBloPoMo, and the writing prompts for this month are about Fiction. This is outside my comfort zone, since I’m best at writing about sub-suburban life, unruly children plotting my overthrow, and my memoir manuscript.

I decided this would be a good stretch for me. And now I have to admit that I haven’t read something in a long time. I’d like to blame the kids, but it’s actually USA network’s fault. Too many shows I enjoy. Darned USA. Of course, I have no culpability in this. I feel like my writing is going to be kind of thin this month, but we’ll see. I might surprise myself.

So…today’s prompt: favorite author. Fortunately, I don’t have just one. We’ll start in chronological order.

You remember Diana Wynne Jones from yesterday? Yeah, she’s the first author I remember as a favorite. I love how she creates everyday magic that seems possible. Probable. Very likely to exist. The two books I enjoy most for this are Archer’s Goon and Fire and Hemlock.

I also like her twisty-turny plots. Howl’s Moving Castle was a good one for that.

 

Another favorite author: JK Rowling. Yes, I know. Cliche. But seriously, the imagination to create the wizarding world, let alone the plots just blows me away. Details like candy, sports, banking and political systems – this amazes me. Even before I wanted to write, I recognized that the breadth of her imagination was staggering.

Moving on – Robin Hobb.

I stumbled upon her when I was checking out a book in the library when we lived in England. The first set of books I read from her was the Farseer Trilogy. I almost got bogged down in the first book because of all of the political intricacies and intrigues, but I didn’t give up and my patience was rewarded in the next two books. Her attention to detail is different than Rowling’s in that it lies in her ability to create intricate political/social systems in her worlds. She is a fantasy writer and has written at least 5 trilogies (that I know of) set in 2 different worlds. The thing that sticks with me about her writing is that there is no happily ever after. There’s a “and they lived on” ending for the characters, but it’s not tied up in a pretty package with a big bow and smiles for everyone. I long for her characters to have one of those beautiful endings, but alas, not meant to be.

Those are the three I can think of off the top of my head. Honestly, those are the only three I can think of right now. Is that shameful or what?

10 Responses to “Favorite Author”

  1. Jeyna Grace August 3, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    nice post!

  2. Christi Wynn August 3, 2011 at 7:11 am #

    USA Network has a way of doing that… I’m pretty sure my rear has become one with the sofa during more than one NCIS marathon!

  3. Emelda Hudson Brown August 3, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    There are so many great authors out there, I went through my Good Reads list and counted 33 different names! Most recent: Abraham Verghese (Cutting for Stone), Tatiana de Rosnay (Sarah’s Key), and Markus Zusak (The Book Thief – actually a young adult book but still great). I still love Laura Ingalls Wilder, Shel Silverstein, and Louisa May Alcott from the younger days. Guess that’s why I enjoy Good Reads site – can keep track of all that stuff! LOL At any one time I have 2-5 books checked out from the library. LOVE the Austin library system – reserve/hold books online, pick up at branch two blocks from my work!
    So enjoy your blog btw, it’s fantastic reading!

    • That Nolen Chick August 3, 2011 at 8:46 am #

      I’m impressed with (and slightly envious of) your list! I honestly can’t say when I quit reading. I cringe to even write that statement – maybe I can explore it in a future post….

  4. Kelley August 3, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    This is great! I love book recommendations AND author recommendations. I don’t know of Hobb or Jones. I need to check them out!

    • That Nolen Chick August 3, 2011 at 11:20 am #

      If you decide to try Robin Hobb, start with the first book of the Farseer Trilogy – Assassin’s Apprentice.

  5. Laura August 3, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    Jane Austen must get a shout our here. I wish USA would make a quirky sitcom based on one of her novels.

  6. midnightphoenix August 6, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    I’m currently working my way through the Tawny Man Trilogy which is set after the Farseer books. I guess it’s safe to assume I’m a fan of her style. Have you read any Brandon Sanderson at all? If you like Hobb and you might like him too. He completed the rest of Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time series, which I think is what he’s best known for. However, I think some of his other work (like Elantris or Warbreaker) are even better. Great post!

    • That Nolen Chick August 6, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

      I enjoyed the Tawny Man books. Thanks for the Sanderson recommendation. I’ll have to give him a shot.

Talk to me!

