Deviation

4 Aug

Today’s prompt for NaBloPoMo is: Which character would you most like to meet?

I don’t feel like writing about that, mainly because I can’t think of who I would like to meet. I started thinking about this last night and came up with dead end after dead end. Who would I want to meet? The question soon became: who would want to meet me?

1 – Can’t meet Harry Potter. I would be called a cougar.

2 – Can’t meet Stephanie Plum. She’d go to Lula and talk about me behind my back.

3 – Don’t want to meet anyone in Robin Hobb’s books. They’re too depressing.

See where this is heading? I’d rather keep my literary friends in the realm of fiction. I think meeting them would ruin the relationship.

On to other topics.

Except I can’t think of anything. I’m working in 95% fried brain mode. I’ve been away from home since July 22, and I’m not getting home until this Sunday. I’ve been wearing the same 5 outfits for 2 weeks. Unwashed, of course. Can’t go on a trip and do laundry. That would defeat the purpose.

Joking. I’ve done laundry more often on this vacay than I do at home. My husband even commented on that fact. He flew home last week, and before he went, I asked if I needed to wash anything. His reply? “No. Everything is clean. Unlike home.” Ha ha.

Anyway, by the time we get home, the kids and I will have seen both sets of grandparents, all the cousins on both sides (3, 2, and 2 from different families), three great aunts, one of my cousins and her kids, one of my second cousins and her kid, all of my & my husband’s brothers/sisters (biological and in-law), and both remaining great-grandmothers. No family reunions involved. Just my little tribe, making our way around Texas in the very hellish (literally) heat. That’s everybody except for my hubby’s sister’s husband. He’s in Africa. I’m not driving there.

That’s a lot of family in two weeks. Plus, I went to my 20th high school reunion.

On the upside, my parents have a treadmill in their office/library. It’s a good setup – TV, AC, free babysitting. I actually ran several times while I was there (10 days). This is a good thing because I’m chubby and I like running, TV, AC, and free babysitting. Now I’m at my younger brother’s house. I’m giving a shout-out to my sis-in-law here. She has 3 A.C.T.I.V.E. little boys – the baby will be 2 next month and the twins will be 4 a mere 12 days later. Can you say full hands? So we brought our brand of insanity here for a couple of days to schmooze with the cousins. I’m tired after just a few hours. It seems like, in this case, the whole is way more than the sum of its parts…seven cousins together is enough to convince me that, yes, 4 kids is enough for me.

One Response to “Deviation”

  1. Kelley August 5, 2011 at 7:03 am #

    Can I come over to your parents? I would love that set-up. What’s the address?

Talk to me!

