July 2006 is done

17 Aug

“Obviously,” you’re probably thinking. “July 2006 happened like, 5 years ago. Of course it’s done.”

But my July 2006 will live forever. It was our first full month in England. I kept a blog for friends and family to keep up with us, and somewhere along the way, I got the crazy idea to turn it into a memoir. Crazy, crazy, crazy.

So I’ve been flirting with the concept of writing this book for about 4 years, but I think only now I’m finally serious about it. I’ve written out my goals on a big white sheet of paper in my office and the one big deadline I’ve given myself is to have this puppy edited and ready to send out the door by October 31. To that end, I am going to work on editing for at least one hour every weekday. I’m 3 for 3 this week, since I started working on it when the kids went back to school Monday.

Today I finished editing July. June was already done, so now I just have August through December. But I have 75 days. That’s 75 hours at least. I discovered that when I start editing, I get carried away and work more than 60 minutes. Reading back over this stuff makes me happy. I get lost in the memories. We had such a great time and the kids were so little (5, 3, and 6 months). I would do it again in a heartbeat, though.

My favorite part of July was Audrey. I think my favorite part of the book is Audrey. She was such a character. The whole time we were over there, she carried around a large bag with all her worldly possessions in it, plus things belonging to other people, like Caleb’s dirty socks and Julie’s binkies.

Good times.

One Response to “July 2006 is done”

  1. Heather August 17, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    I honestly can’t wait to read “A year in the life of a Nolen” when it is done. On pins and needles here. 🙂

Talk to me!

