Mommy Margarita

18 Aug

I was invited to a Mommy Margarita party to celebrate the first full day of school. There were 11 of us there, but I only knew 4 well enough to be able to tell you their names and a name of at least one of their children. We munched on ravioli with pesto, salad, and hummus, and drank (you guessed it) margaritas.

Now, before I go any further, let me say a couple of things.

  1. We don’t drink in our house. Not a big issue, we just don’t

Oh. Well. I guess I just had one thing to say. Because I don’t drink (often, if at all), the margaritas must have gone to my head. Muddied my thinking. Anyway, I enjoyed a margarita with lunch.

I also enjoyed the conversation. It reminded me that there are women out there that I see almost every day who are funny, witty, and intelligent. They have fabulous one-liners and hilarious stories about their lives. Why don’t I hang out with these “other women” more? Not necessarily the women at the MM lunch, although I wouldn’t say no to that proposition. There are millions of laughs to be had, and probably a millions tears to cry together. While we were there, one of the other moms informed us that she’s getting a divorce. Now, I don’t know her, although I have seen her around the elementary school for the last 6 years, but still, this is a sad thing. A family is breaking up. I’m sure that at some point, tears with friends were shed.

Inevitably, the conversation turned to corn syrup. Yes, corn syrup. Have you experienced this? A group of moms gets together and, sooner or later, corn syrup rears its ugly head. Now, I know that Mr. Corn Syrup isn’t too popular these days, what with all the processed food debate and all. But I haven’t paid too much attention – mostly because I’m worried about doing laundry, playing Angry Birds, cooking dinner for my family, and other such nonsense. But these ladies sounded like they knew their facts (or at least had paid attention when the 6 o’clock news anchor started talking about corn syrup). On the way home, I started wondering if I should banish all corn syrup from my kids’ diet. This thought quickly gave way to, “Yeah, right. That means no corn syrup for me, either,” and I decided that, at least for today, we’ll still tolerate the sticky sweetener around here.

But maybe I’ll start looking into it. After my next margarita.

2 Responses to “Mommy Margarita”

  1. Laura August 20, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    Your brother is very anti-corn syrup. When I go to the store I work hard to not get products with the evil stuff in the label. Makes shopping more challenging, but at least I don’t have to take the kids when I go. Glad you had fun on your own with other moms. It’s good to do something fun just for you sometimes. It’s even better when said thing ends up actually being enjoyable.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 18 Things I Haven’t Done « that nolen chick - October 24, 2011

    […] Had a drink in a bar. I’m Baptist, what can I say? I did, however, have my first margarita a couple of months ago. It was […]

Talk to me!

