Ah, to be a good mom

6 Sep

My writing prompt today, as supplied by NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month) was: What was your favourite part about returning to school? I think I pretty much covered that here, so today I’m going to talk about my favorite part about my kids returning to school.

This year, 3 of the 4 are in full-day school. While some moms are somewhat sad when each of their children begins kindergarten, I’ve been giddy with relief that summer is over. This makes me feel enormously guilty. Why am I happy? Shouldn’t I be sad that my little darling, the apple of my eye, my reason for staying at home is going to be away from me for 7.5 hours, 5 days a week? Shouldn’t I be mourning the end of her precious preschool years?

Shoot, no. J, a.k.a. #3, is a precocious, strong-willed, unpredictable, hilarious ball of nonstop energy. The girl makes me tired. She’s like Taz on crack. Always moving, talking, dancing, singing, yelling, and/or up to something. I’ve been looking forward to her starting kindergarten since she was 3.

C, or #1, is in 5th grade this year. He’s the eldest of the bunch. He would (and has) sit on his skinny little rear end all day long and play video games if I’d let him. Because it winds him up tighter than tight, he doesn’t get to play video games on school days. So that’s a battle I don’t have to face Sunday-Thursday. “Mom, can I play?”   “Mom, when can I play?”   “Mom, is it ok for me to play now?” It’s wearisome dealing with that every day in the summer.

Dear sweet A, #2, is in 3rd grade. She’s our lawyer in training. Sharp as a tack with a fabulous memory. She can spit back my own words and twist those words (correctly, I might add) in a vain attempt to get her way. Trying to phrase my sentences in such a way so she can’t dissect and rearrange them is tough and tiring.

Do you see a theme? My kids make me tired. Not the laundry, cooking, cleaning part of having kids. The kids themselves make me tired. I’m glad they’re back in school because I can actually sit down and have a quiet thought ALL. BY. MYSELF. Granted, Baby K (#4) is around, but she still naps a couple of times during the day, and when she’s not napping she doesn’t make me THAT tired because she hasn’t developed her energy-sucking talents yet. Plus, I love the way she talks to me. Babbles and giggles that I don’t hear when C, A, &  J are around. Did I mention that we’re a family of talkers? Poor baby, it’s going to be a wonder if she’s ever able to speak for herself.

So my favorite part of my kids returning to school is the silence they leave behind. Yes, I know – totally selfish on my part. But I think there’s a lot less yelling around here since school has started. I know there’s been less TV and more reading, so that’s a positive. I’ve gotten more work done since I didn’t have to play cruise director for 3 bored kids (which I refused to do anyway, but they didn’t get the memo).

8 Responses to “Ah, to be a good mom”

  1. juliesaysyay September 6, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    Oh, C and the video games. Oh, how I know this one. The best thing we ever bought was a timer that turns the damn thing off after 60 minutes, but not before it beeps like a psycho fire alarm to warn him his time is almost up. He *loves* it, as you can imagine. System unplugged for the school year, which is bliss.

    • That Nolen Chick September 7, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

      Where in the big wide world did you get one of those marvelous devices? I want one!

  2. Laura September 6, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    Guilt, be gone! Your children are delightful, but I hear ya! I’m glad you and K get precious alone time. Relish her and enjoy the time while your big kids are learning and growing, thriving while they’re at school.

    • That Nolen Chick September 7, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

      I think I’m letting K watch too much TV while I’m working. She has started making demands for “Ah-Ho” every time she comes in the living room. (Mickey Mouse)

  3. Deana September 6, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    School starts in August down here – and the radio starts playing clips of my favorite back to school song of all time, “It’s the Most wonderful time of the year.” —

    I remember the year I dropped my babies off for Kindergarten and PreK — I cried. The next year I was high fiveing the other mom’s in the parking lot and going out for coffee.

    Yep, things change.

    • That Nolen Chick September 7, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

      Yup! Most wonderful time of the year, indeed! Someone posted on Facebook this morning that traffic at school is the worst because it’s a bunch of moms trying to unload their kids. Don’t know if she meant it to be funny or not, but I had a mental picture of minivan moms slowing down long enough to shove a kid or two out onto the sidewalk.

  4. Stephanie Fabry Pittman September 6, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    No guilt – I look forward to school starting all summer long (and I only have 2 kiddos!). I absolutely love my Fridays off – the house is quiet, I get three times the amount of stuff done (including grocery shopping with NO kids in tow!).

    I love when school is in session! ;D

    • That Nolen Chick September 7, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

      Wow – days off with NO children. I’m eons away from that.

Talk to me!

