I gained poundage from THAT?

28 Sep

I’m a Weight Watcher.  I’ve been one since J was a couple of months old. Want to see my official “before” picture? This is the one that, when I saw it, shocked me into the realization that I was fat. F.A.T. Here it is:

At this time I was 229. Ick. So that’s when I joined Weight Watchers. I kind of played around with it until January 2009, when I got serious and I worked hard and busted my hiney until I weighted 164. Not my goal, but close. Want to see that picture?

My ultimate goal is 148, but I’ll be happy to see 150 again.

Anyway, I’ve had a tough time since Baby K came along (19 months ago) getting back on the WW wagon. I totally lost my mojo. I’ve been gaining and losing the same 5 pounds for the last 5 months, stalled out. I decided to get serious, so the first order of business was to start tracking everything I ate  (#1 rule in Weight Watchers – pretty much the only rule). I made a deal with myself that I would treat myself to something if I tracked everything for the last week. So I got tracking.

Every bite. Chocolate coconut bars, chocolate mint cheesecake, homemade ice cream, BBQ, cake, and all the other stuff I ate. Every lunch, dinner, snack, and breakfast. Breakfast was easy. I like oats with milk. Not all mushy like oatmeal, but just oats with milk, warmed a bit. I have a WW scale that I used to figure out an appropriate amount of oats, then figured out my milk. All together, my breakfast was 5 points. But I was super pleased with how much I got to eat for those 5 points – 5.5 oz of oats and 1 1/4 c. milk. Nice, big breakfast for 5 points.

To give you some context, a piece of pizza is about 8 points, a chocolate chip cookie is 4 points, a 4 oz. margarita is 5 points (but who only drinks 4 oz. of margarita?), and a couple pieces of bread are 3 points. I was quite smug with my breakfast. It kept me full well into the afternoon. Smug, smug, smug.

Until I got on the scale Monday morning and weighed 180. I’ve been hovering around 177 for the last few weeks, so I was shocked when I gained 3 pounds after a week of tracking.  90% of the time, I’ll lose weight after even a week of faithful tracking, but even staying the same isn’t all that unusual. But GAINING 3 pounds? Wow.

I decided Monday morning that I would not only track everything, but I’d be meticulous about measuring my portions. So I zeroed out my scale, punched in the appropriate numbers, and weighed out my oats. Before I even got half the oats in, I was up to 7 points. SEVEN POINTS? What? I zeroed out the scale and started again. This time I had the digital readout set to ounces, not points, and I put in my 5.5 ounces of steel cut oats before toggling the readout to points. Are you ready for this? It said 15.

FIFTEEN points! And that’s without my 3 points for milk. So I’ve been eating 18 points for breakfast. I only get 29 points in a day, plus the extra 49 to use however I want throughout the week. I did a little quick math and realized I’d consumed 91 extra points over the course of the week. Dang! No wonder I was up 3 pounds. I figured out the right amount of oats and milk for a 5 point breakfast and was sad because I had to put away my big huge soup bowl and get a smaller more respectable bowl. What a bummer.

On the plus side, I weighed 176.3 this morning when I got on the scale. Not quite sure how all that worked, but I’m glad I got the oat stuff sorted out. Another good thing is that I managed to track everything this week, so I met my goal and got my prize. Want to see what I got?

Yup. I’m cool. Got some sticker paint for my nails.

 

 

 

 

Don’t forget to click on the banner below. Boost this little old blog up the list so that others may discover our merry band and share the joy. Or whatever it is you feel when you read my posts. Thanks again!

4 Responses to “I gained poundage from THAT?”

  1. Joy September 28, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    Sweet! Where does one come by sticker paint for nails? 🙂 Congratulations–you are seriously an inspiration!

    • That Nolen Chick September 28, 2011 at 9:16 am #

      Wally World on the nail polish aisle. Sally Hansen brand. When I get down to 163 (pre-Baby K weight) I’m getting a new stereo for my 10-year-old SUV. Then I can blast my ghetto music from my iPod in my car while tapping my pink camo fingernails on the steering wheel in time to the thumping bass.

  2. Reading (and chickens) September 28, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    Whoa, you look AWESOME.

    • That Nolen Chick September 28, 2011 at 11:40 am #

      Thank you. Don’t know if you can see it in the skinnier picture, but I had just come back from the salon where I got pink added to my ‘do. It was a reward for hitting a milestone. That was back in 2009.

      Alas, the only rewards I have these days are my redneck fingernails, but they make me smile.

Talk to me!

