I’m in training to be a travel agent for guilt trips

30 Sep

Thursday morning stunk. You don’t need to know the details – same old, same old from the kids. Yelling, annoying each other, tattling, hitting, throwing brother’s toys into the (empty) bathtub. What you do need to know is my reaction.

When the kids got out the door, I lost it. I called Steve and cried for a moment, then had an inspiration. I hung up the phone, opened the camcorder app, and made a video for the kids about why I hate mornings. It’s 2 minutes of pure guilt trip. And you know what I did when they came home from school? I showed it to them. I made them watch two minutes of Mommy being an ugly crier. Yeah, I’m not a graceful weeper. That, coupled with the angle at which I was holding the camera made for an ugly video overall .

Then there are my words. The word “hate” is banned in our house. The kids aren’t allowed to say it, and Steve and I don’t say it. I think I said it 37 times in those 2 minutes. Mostly, “I hate mornings because….” Not my best mommy moment.

What about you? Got any mommy (or daddy) moments you care to share?

P.S. Click for me, please! My future as a fabulously famous writer lies in your hands… (need a guilt trip to convince you? apparently, I’m pretty good at those)

6 Responses to “I’m in training to be a travel agent for guilt trips”

  1. Laura September 30, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    Mine are little–4 year old twins and a 2 year old–but they get it when Mommy’s grumpy. If I start getting grumpy (happens often) I tell them that they are making Nice Mommy leave and Grumpy Mommy come back. They don’t quite get this, but I’m hoping that someday they will make the connection of “Hey, if I just brush my teeth without acting like a crazy cheetah Nice Mommy will be pleasant and more fun than Grumpy Mommy.” Hope springs eternal.

    • That Nolen Chick September 30, 2011 at 8:19 am #

      Yeah – Nice Mommy totally left the building yesterday. And hasn’t returned yet. C asked this morning, “Are you STILL mad about yesterday?” and I said, “No, I’m mad about every morning so far this school year INCLUDING yesterday.” He was quiet (for 16 seconds at least) after that.

  2. Kelley September 30, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    Oh, I know what you mean. For me, it’s the early afternoons when they are both home at the same time awake & alert & rambunctious. When they fall on each other’s heads? Tackle each other? That stresses me out to no end. I get it! Maybe I should videotape myself.

  3. DesiValentine October 5, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    Oh, honey. That’s so brave! I’ve been there in the morning with the white-knuckled tension and the oh-my-god-why-can’t-you-just-frickin’-MOVE, and the bizarrely nebulous list of my responsibilities that somehow mean I’M responsible for getting all of their asses up and out the door in the morning. I feel your pain, and I think it’s awesome that you shared it with your kids. You’re amazing!

Talk to me!

