Wow, she has boundaries?

5 Oct

Yes, I do.

When I started this blog, I never thought about what I would or wouldn’t talk about. I had some vague guidelines, though:

  • I keep it in the PG-13 range, because that’s where I live. Plus, my mom forwards the posts to my grandmothers. (Hi Gigi and Grannie!)
  • I won’t post anything that would embarrass my husband. (Hi, Steve – hope you’re having a nice time at your class in SF today. If you go out for another nice lunch without me, I think I’ll cry. But we can talk about that later.)

That’s pretty much it. Until today. On my way home from Bible study, I was thinking about the beginnings of what was starting to be a snarky/funny post about people with whom I interact but don’t necessarily like. I had some great zingers – I was going to talk about Mrs. No Social Skills and Mrs. My Life is Perfect Let Me Tell You All About It. But then I realized that I didn’t want to go down that road, as fun as it might be to snark.

I figured I have enough in my own life to snark about, so I’ll reserve the cheap shots for myself. I’ll even try to restrain myself from snarking about my kids too much. But, come on – can I really avoid that all together? I think not. Especially when they set themselves up so nicely day after day.

I think I will allow myself to be snarky about:

  • pop culture
  • rejection letters
  • other things and people who aren’t innocent bystanders or my relatives – I guess rude drivers fall into this category, but not cashiers at the grocery store because I live in a small town and have to see them every week

So there we go. Apparently I have some ground rules. Wow – does this mean there’s some self-control here? Maybe, but I’ll still be thinking snarky thoughts, just not publishing them on the interwebs.

 

9 Responses to “Wow, she has boundaries?”

  1. Deana October 5, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    Great thoughts. I’ve struggled with those boundaries myself. I used to be part of a blog ring (do they even still have those?) where some pastors used to blog. These guys would rip people and churches to shreds and even though they didn’t mention names, you could tell who they were talking about. I used to get upset and spend my blogging hours wrestling with pigs. (being snarky right back) The problem is when you do that, you get dirty and the pigs like it.

    It also sounds like we have mutual friends. I’ve met those ladies before. šŸ™‚ yeah , no.. I can’t write about them either — I have a pray-er in my circle. She likes to pass on the we need to pray for so and so because prayers. My snarky comment is usually along the lines of prayer requests are just gossip with your eyes closed.

    • That Nolen Chick October 5, 2011 at 8:50 am #

      HA! Love the “gossip with your eyes closed” comment. That can be so true. Geez, and I wonder why we Christians get tagged with the hypocrite label. (I wish I could have written that last sentence in sarcasm font.)

  2. Shannon Gale October 5, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    You can be snarky about me all you like. šŸ™‚

    • That Nolen Chick October 5, 2011 at 10:40 am #

      Thanks for the permission! I’ll start now.

      That Shannon! She’s so….

      Hm. Give me some time. I’ll come up with something.

  3. Shannon Gale October 5, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    BTW, I LOVE the new format. It looks fantastic!

    • That Nolen Chick October 5, 2011 at 10:43 am #

      Gosh, took you long enough. There. That’s as snarky as I can be about you. Unless you want me to rag on your tongue piercing. Do *real* Christians get their tongues pierced? šŸ˜‰

      • Shannon Gale October 5, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

        Hey, I read it on my email (see how devoted I am to you? I get your blog delivered to my inbox!) and the format doesn’t show up there.

        About the tongue piercing: I’m not sure if real Christians have piercings… I’ll have to get back to you on that one. šŸ˜‰

  4. veryVERYbusymom October 5, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    I figure that prejudiced or intolerant people are fair game, but that would probably make me a hypocrite – being prejudiced or intolerant about prejudiced or intolerant people.

    • That Nolen Chick October 5, 2011 at 11:44 am #

      LOL! I guess that’s one more reason I’m ok with picking on myself. Things I can’t stand in other people usually show up in my life, so I can pick my own foibles apart.

Talk to me!

