I feel like I’m about to be judged

7 Oct

I paid for a blog assessment recently. Friday, to be exact. I follow @EliRoseSocial, a social media consultancy group, on Twitter. I don’t remember how I landed on them, but I did. They send out great 140-character “how to” tips for those of us who are clueless about growing our websites. They announced that as of October 1, the price of their website assessment was going up from $25 to something else that’s more than $25. Marketing works with me, especially if you tell me I’ll save money, so I bought an assessment.

I hadn’t thought much about it until 12:03 p.m. yesterday, when their assessment of That Nolen Chick hit my e-mail inbox. Now I’m afraid to open it. What if they think my website really sucks? As in, “the year 2001 called and it wants its lame blog back.” And I paid for this! I keep telling myself that when I’m done with editing my manuscript, I’ll open it up and see what they had to say. But I also have Halloween costumes that I said I’d work on after the second edit of the manuscript was done.

Why am I being such a weenie about this? I was in 4-H as a kid and was super-competitive: sewing, foods and nutrition, method demonstrations (public speaking), livestock. I was constantly putting myself out there for judging as a kid. Why is this so much harder?

I’m truly afraid to open the file. I don’t even know what I’m expecting to see, since I’ve never had a blog assessment done before. I keep telling myself that all I did was hire a consultant to spiff up my website, but even that doesn’t help. Now I’m thinking, “Geez – I paid someone to judge me!” But they’re the experts about the interwebs – I’m not.

Ok. I’m going to open it now and tell you what they said.

……..

It’s worse than I thought. There’s a bunch of techno-web terms that I have zero clue about; things they suggest I add to or modify on my site. So now, in addition to mommying, housekeeping, writing, and blogging, I get to learn a whole new vocabulary and skill set.

Better yet, I could just pay Eli|Rose to do it for me. That marketing was slick. Well played, Eli|Rose.

5 Responses to “I feel like I’m about to be judged”

  1. shona neff October 7, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    Hey April….if you’d like some help for free, let me know.

  2. Reading (and chickens) October 7, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    I’m really curious about what it said exactly! I…I have no clue about all this marketing stuff.

  3. Liz October 8, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    Hi April,

    We definitely don’t want you to feel overwhelmed by the suggestions we provided, and we try to incorporate as many links to relevant explanatory/tutorial posts as possible. As part of your assessment, we welcome and are happy to answer any follow-up questions that you have. Feel free to send along any questions or concerns. Thanks!

    • That Nolen Chick October 8, 2011 at 11:54 am #

      Look at that! You guys are so awesome! I’m definitely planning on hitting you up for follow-up help…as soon as I can get some laundry done. Thanks for the follow-up comment. 😀

  4. veryVERYbusymom October 10, 2011 at 12:43 am #

    Wow. Your paid consultant is reading and commenting for free. Maybe what you’re doing works without their help. On the other hand, if you already paid the $25+ you might as well give their suggestions a try

Talk to me!

