The Next Challenge

21 Oct

My to-do list:

  1. Submit Stephen F. Austin manuscript (over and over and over if necessary) – check
  2. Finish editing The Marvelous Adventures of the Fabulous Nolens mansucript – in process
  3. Submit TMAOTFN (^^ that book) – as soon as #2 is done
  4. Make 4 Halloween costumes – almost done
  5. Start new writing project – scares the peewadling out of me

Yes, I used the word “peewadling.” I’m not really sure how to define it, but you can get the gist from the context.

Next month, November, is National Novel Writing Month – NaNoWriMo. The goal of NaNoWriMo is to write a 50,000-word book in 30 days. That’s 1,667 words every day. If I take weekends off, that’s 22 days – 2,273 words per day. I know what I’m going to write my story about, but I don’t know what my story is. Action/adventure? Mystery? Thriller? Drama? Not romance, I know that for sure. At least I can mark that genre off my list.

But, yikes! Can I actually produce 50,000 words? I’ve tried NaNoWriMo before, but the result was a crash and burn. Not even mid-way, either. Closer to the beginning. I totally wussed out. Played the “busy mommy” card and quit. I don’t think I want to quit this year. I think I want to finish. But then I’ll have another manuscript to deal with. Wow. What will I do with 3 manuscripts?

Hmm. Publish them, maybe? There’s a thought – 3 books.

Well, you’re coming on the journey with me, like it or not. Now that I’ve put that out there, I have to be accountable to you for my success, or lack thereof. I’ve signed up on the NaNoWriMo website, so I suppose it’s somewhat official now. My plan of attack for these 50K words is to just spew them out. I’m going to try to not care about grammar, sentence structure, or other such things. November is all about the words.

Since I should probably know what my plot is, I’ll try to squeeze in some groundwork over the next 11 days. That is, when I have a chance to do ANOTHER thing besides cooking, cleaning, yelling at the kids, laundry, constructing Halloween costumes, more yelling at the kids, wiping boogers off Baby K’s face, checking homework, making school lunches, hiding in the bathroom, and taking the occasional shower.

Ready for the ride?

Just click here to vote. Nothing more required of you. Thanks!

5 Responses to “The Next Challenge”

  1. Reading (and chickens) October 21, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    I have so much trouble with plot. Who needs plot? You’re so ambitious to do all this while taking of four kids. No clue how you do it, but am envious of your work ethic!

    • That Nolen Chick October 21, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

      Don’t be envious – my house is a wreck and my yard looks hideous. Oh well.

  2. veryVERYbusymom October 22, 2011 at 12:28 am #

    You make your own Halloween costumes? That’s ambitious. Every year I want the kids to trick or treat in their pajamas and tell people that they’re pretending to go to bed. Instead, the girls wear something frilly and my son gets a Target costume with built-in muscles.

    Good luck on the to do list. Did you notice that 4 out of 5 are writing tasks? Yet somehow you still got your blog done. You’ll get the others as well.

    • That Nolen Chick October 23, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

      I only make the costumes when my kids decide to be obscure characters. In the case of #2, this is every year. She was the queen of the fairies from the Tinkerbell books last year. Yeah – who?

      I would LOVE for my kids to go in their PJs – maybe that’s how I’ll go.

  3. Stephanie MacDonald October 22, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    I don’t suppose you could spare a moment to give a 1 time vote for my son in a halloween contest on facebook… I’d really appreciate it! Please like page, then scroll down past form, My lil man is in 1st, red demon costume, black wings. Thanks!! http://www.facebook.com/iNetVideo?sk=app_268980443136473

Talk to me!

