18 Things I Haven’t Done (plus one)

24 Oct

How about a rundown of a dozen and a half things I’ve never done?

I’ve never:

1. Lived in a house with wood floors. Carpet, linoleum, tile, slate, but no wood. I’m thinking about this as I gaze out over my crappy needs-to-be-replaced old carpet and ponder on what might be.

2. Had a facial. Didn’t even know what one was until about 10 years ago. Not sure I want to do that.

3. Had a C-section. Since I’m not going to be birthing any more babies, I will never have one. I have, however, enjoyed the joy of childbirth both with and without an epidural. If there were such thing as a sarcasm font, I would have utilized it for the word “joy.”

4. Broken a bone. Call it caution, cowardice, or luck.

5. Gotten stitches. Again…weenie, wuss, or wise living?

6. Visited Washington D.C. Maybe I’ll go in 3 years when it’s time for #1 to take his 8th grade field trip there.

7. Seen a horror movie in a theater. I think the only one I’ve seen was one of the Friday the 13th movies at a friend’s 13th birthday party. On a Friday. Freaked. Me. Out. No more scary movies for the cautious, cowardly, lucky, weenie, wussy, wise girl.

8. Flown in first class. Maybe the next time we go to England, I will. I’ll stick the kids back in coach and Steve and I can enjoy ourselves. Don’t feel bad for the kids. I don’t anticipate going back until Baby K is at least 10. That will make the other 3 kids 14, 16, and 18. They can survive in the backseats without us, right?

9. Seen a famous person. Well, that’s not strictly true. I saw Ali MacGraw at the Tesuque Pueblo Market a couple of years ago, but I didn’t know it was her until a friend said, “Hey, don’t look now, but that’s Ali MacGraw over there,” and I, of course, looked. I also met George Bush the younger while he was still governor of Texas. Steve, on the other hand, almost plowed Malcolm McDowell down in the Albuquerque airport a couple of months ago, and he saw Emmet Smith in the Dallas airport a few years ago.

10. Had a drink in a bar. I’m Baptist, what can I say? I did, however, have my first margarita a couple of months ago. It was wonderful!

11. Gotten a tattoo. I’ve thought about it, though. Pretty seriously even. I never knew what I might like to get until I saw some white ink tattoos recently. I got excited about it, started thinking about designs and stuff, until I realized that NEEDLES are involved. So yeah…no tats.

12. Worked at the same job for longer than a year.

13. Swam in the ocean.

14. Video chatted. I know I should probably get myself and my parents set up on Skype, but I’ve just never done it.

15. Owned a pair of shoes that cost more than $100. My Birkenstocks and running shoes come close, but not over $100.

16. Eaten oysters. Don’t see the point. Ick.

17. Turned down anything chocolate. Don’t see the point. Yum.

18. Lost my cell phone. I’m kind of attached.

When I was responding to my first comment on this post just now (hi Deana!) I realized I left off a biggie. So here’s bonus thing #19: I’ve never been to Disneyland or Disneyworld. We have plans to go…eventually. Maybe I’ll get there before my 40th birthday in 2013.

Just click here to vote. Nothing more required of you. Thanks!

11 Responses to “18 Things I Haven’t Done (plus one)”

  1. Deana October 24, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    C-sections are over rated anyway (I’ve had 2) — and you totally need to swim in the ocean at least once in your life. It’s so freeing really.

    I like your posts April. You’re real. That’s refreshing. Keep it up.

  2. That Nolen Chick October 24, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    I’ve heard that about C-sections. I do want to swim in the ocean. Living in a landlocked state makes it tricky. Maybe one day when we visit Disneyland/world (another thing I’ve never done) we’ll spend a day at the beach.

    Thanks for the compliment, Deana!

  3. Shannon Gale October 24, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    Some of the white ink tattoos look like scars from tattoo removal, but they’re pretty cool. More importantly though, I can’t believe that was your first margarita! We’re going to have to catch you up (well, you catch up and I’ll watch… sigh.)

  4. Shannon Gale October 24, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    I also wanted to add:

    “Well I’ve never licked a spark plug and I’ve never sniffed a stink bug and I’ve never painted daisies on a big, red, rubber ball. And I’ve never bathed in yogurt and I don’t look good in legginnnngs and I’ve never been to Boston in the fall.” 😀

    • That Nolen Chick October 24, 2011 at 9:38 am #

      ROFL, Shannon! I had Boston in the fall, but replaced it with the DC one. The margaritas at your house were numbers 3 and 4, but they were numbers 1 and 2 for “on the rocks” because the other ones were frozen.

  5. Reading (and chickens) October 24, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    I’ve never had oysters or a facial either. Both seem creepy and gross. 🙂

    • That Nolen Chick October 24, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

      Yup. Great minds agree that oysters and facial are weird, and that they belong together somewhere else.

  6. Stephanie Fabry Pittman October 24, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    Ok, so I’ve done 14 out of 19. A tattoo is something I have always wanted, but (like you) am too much of a wimp b/c of the needles. I cannot make myself pay more than $30 (and that’s pushing it) for a pair of shoes. I do not like seafood. And, again, like you, I have never lost my cell phone (very much so attached to it (so attached that it is kept in my bro strap instead of my pocket). 😀

    • Stephanie Fabry Pittman October 24, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

      Sorry, that’s 15 out of 19. Can’t count today.

      • That Nolen Chick October 24, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

        I wonder if your counting ability is tied to your thumbish area on your hand. 😉

        Sorry you smushed it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 18 Things I’ve Done « that nolen chick - October 31, 2011

    […] I posted last week about 18 + 1 things I’ve never done, I thought today I’d enlighten you about the things I have […]

Talk to me!

