I need opinions from writers and readers please!

24 Oct

I’m working on editing my memoir and I need some input from you fine people. My book is called “186 Days: The Marvelous Adventures of the Fabulous Nolens” (TMAOTFN). We moved to England for 6 months back in 2006, and I kept a blog for our friends and family while we were there. The original blog was called “The Marvelous Adventures of the Fabulous Nolens.” I created it late one night and thought it sounded funny. Every post’s title had the word “marvelous” in it.

Here is a sampling of the titles:

  • Saturday, July 1: Our Marvelous Day in London
  • Sun, July 2: Marvelous Dinner at The Bear
  • Mon, July 3: We Interrupt this Program With Marvelous News…
  • Tuesday, July 4: Glad We Got Our Marvelous Independence from These People
  • Wednesday, July 5: Delivering Nana and the Un-marvelous Trip Home
  • Friday, July 7: A Marvelous First for Caleb
  • Monday, July 10: Our Marvelous Weekend
  • Monday, July 10: Caleb’s Marvelous Retelling of His School Adventures
  • Tuesday, July 11: Tuesday is Semi-Marvelous
  • Wednesday, July 12: Run-of-the-Mill Can Be Marvelous, Too

This is my question: should I ditch the marvelous and just go with regular titles? Please give me your honest thoughts on this. I have a feeling about what I probably should do, but I’m not sure.

9 Responses to “I need opinions from writers and readers please!”

  1. MommyBot (@MommyBot2) October 24, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    I really like the “marvellous”. It’s whimsical. I say, “keep it”.

  2. Emelda Brown October 24, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    Keep please!! Love that part!

  3. veryVERYbusymom October 24, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Such a tough call. Really really funny for a minute, but it could get old. Still, I’m leaning toward keeping up with the Marvelouses. I guess this means you have about 186 marvelous chapters.

  4. 3by3 writing method October 24, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    too many for my taste, of course it depends on the audience. If this is for family and friends, by all means, keep it. It is cute and fun. For further consumption I think it comes across as amateurish.

    just my opinion

  5. Deana October 24, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    I’m not the best judge as my first thought was ooh what if you spell it MaHvelous. It might get old? I don’t know. You could also make it an anongram. Day one start with M, day two A.. and so on.

    I’m no help. Truth is some will love it and some will tire of it. Follow your voice.

  6. Kristin October 24, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    If you don’t use marvelous it will completely change some of the titles…I kinda like it. However if I was seeing it chapter after chapter it might lose some of its cuteness. Maybe just use it when it won’t work if you omit it? I dunno

  7. Jason T October 24, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    I like the theme, but it’s a bit much for every post. What if you broke it into weeks, or some other division, and used it in those titles?

  8. Christine October 25, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    I like the “marvelous” part. I think it adds to the theme of life in England. Don’t they use words like marvelous, splendid, etc. in casual conversation? I feel like I should sit up straighter…

  9. Laura October 25, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    I like marvelous.

Talk to me!

