The Great Edit of ’11

26 Oct

Wow. Editing is tough. I printed out my manuscript about 10 days ago and parked it in a pink binder (pink makes me happy). If you recall, my book is a memoir of the six months we were in England. It’s in the format of a blog with each “chapter” having a date and title. Since I’m done with Halloween costumes, it’s time to do my pen-to-paper edit. My self-imposed deadline is October 31.

My plan of attack is:

  1. first pass through, only check dates & titles for errors.
  2. second pass through, read everything and make changes.

Easy-peasy, right? Yeah, not so much. The first thing I discovered is that for 2/3 of the manuscript, my date/time headings were formatted incorrectly. The second thing I realized is that I’m not happy with my chapter headings. Each post (all 130+) of them have the word marvelous in their titles. That will need some attention, I do believe.

I’ve spent part of two afternoons editing, and I’m all the way up to page 8. Yes. PAGE 8. Lightning speed! Only 341 340 to go. One page was a blank.

I’ve got to say, I’m not very impressed with my writing. The first 7 pages were less than stellar. So many editing marks already. Now I’m starting to question if this was a good idea. Not the editing – that’s always a good idea, I’m sure – the whole turning-my-blog-into-a-book thing. My biggest problem at the moment is how to introduce the characters, i.e. my family. When I originally wrote the blog, it was for family and friends already very familiar with the 5 of us. (Baby K hadn’t come along yet.) The book opens with us loading up a rental van here at the house with 10 suitcases, 5 carry-ons, 3 car seats, 2 strollers, 3 kids, 1 baby backpack, 1 mother-in-law, and 2 parents, heading to the Albuquerque airport, and hopping a couple of flights to get to London. No character development, unless you count my description of the grouchy and very suspicious customs agent who accused us of trying to dodge the requirement for visas.

So instead of editing, which would be the prudent thing to do, I’m blogging. I’m overwhelmed. I’ve already had some peanut butter and chocolate chips, so I’m good on that front.

One Response to “The Great Edit of ’11”

  1. Reading (and chickens) October 26, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    Agreed, editing is terrible. But you know what? Looking at things I’ve rewritten, it’s soooo much better than the first go-around. Definitely worth the time, even if you (meaning I) suck at it.

Talk to me!

