The Interwebs Make Me Feel Confused and Sad

28 Oct

I’ve started following some authors on Twitter. They post links to great articles about editing, platform, publishing, writing dos and don’ts, and book reviews. I click through most of the links to discern if the articles are useful to me at this juncture in my fledgling career. If it’s an article or site I want to read, I save it to ReadItLater. Useful app, that. I have it on my Droid and my laptop, so I can access the pages from either device. Not that I’ve accessed anything from anywhere in the last week.

Then I’ve got my Google Reader list. I’m afraid to even open that to see how many unread blog posts I have. There are a handful of blogs I enjoy reading, and I get the new posts through Google. It’s overwhelming how many unread things I have floating around.

So now I feel guilty. I want to read all of this, but when I think about sitting down and reading, it’s hard to justify it. I have so much other stuff to do, and sitting still and reading makes me feel guilty. How did it come to this? I even feel guilty reading books. Maybe it’s because I can’t point to a finished product at the end of my reading time: no clean laundry, no dinner, no pages written or edited, no floors swept/mopped/vacuumed, etc.

Instead of doing something logical, like scheduling in some guilt-free reading time, I freak out as my to-read list grows. Oh, interwebs, why must you have so many interesting and useful things to read?

I probably should ask what you’re reading online, but then I’d end up adding it to my “To Read” list and get even more behind on what I’m reading.  But I’m going to ask anyway – what are you reading online?

7 Responses to “The Interwebs Make Me Feel Confused and Sad”

  1. Erin October 28, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    I’m the exact same way. But now it’s leaked into my writing, too. I have the best of intentions (for both reading and writing) but when it comes down to it, feeding my kids dinner is just more important. Go figure.

    • That Nolen Chick October 28, 2011 at 11:48 am #

      Yeah, the care and feeding of children/spouse can be quite time-consuming. And important. And not easily delegated to anyone else. How’s the new school arrangement going? As you probably deduced from my post this morning, I haven’t checked your blog in a while… o.o

  2. Laura October 28, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    I read very little online. I’m like you–finding the luxury of time to read things online just doesn’t really work for me right now.

    Admittedly, I prefer reading tangible books and am reading 2 right now. I try to read non-fiction books that help me grow. I love putting tons of sticky notes on parts to revisit. I just finished a really good one about listening and am almost done with one about being a good mom. I have lots of room to grow in both of these areas.

    The other is purely for enjoyment. I try to let the guilt go but am also certain I don’t take enough time for myself. Wish those dishes would clean themselves. Where’s Cinderella’s forest clean-up crew when I need them?

  3. veryVERYbusymom October 28, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    I’m reading you. But I ran out of time to reply. Almost.

  4. Reading (and chickens) October 28, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    Don’t feel guilty! Guilt is I’ve decided, a completely useless emotion for most people. Read! Feeling well-rested would be a HUGE accomplishment for most moms, right? 🙂

    • That Nolen Chick October 29, 2011 at 9:53 am #

      Yeah, usually I don’t feel guilty. I choose to ignore stuff instead.

Talk to me!

