18 Things I’ve Done

31 Oct

Since I posted last week about 18 + 1 things I’ve never done, I thought today I’d enlighten you about the things I have done.

I have:

1. Bungee jumped. In college. On February 29. Leap Day. I chose to jump off a crane one Saturday in 1992. I lived. HUGE adrenaline rush. I don’t think I’ll do it again, though. I’m pretty sure it messed up my neck. The whole thing was videoed, but I haven’t been able to find the video in the last 2 decades. Anyone know where it is?

2. Fallen off a roof. My dad pushed me. Actually, he bumped me off with his backside. We were putting shingles on our new sheep/pig/rabbit enclosure and all of a sudden I found myself flying off the 8′ roof toward the open tailgate of Dad’s white truck. Fortunately I missed the tailgate and face-planted on the ground. I lived.

3. Watched The Sound of Music every day for a whole summer. It was the summer Steve did a 6-week study abroad in Europe when we were dating. It made me happy.

4. Seen the Mona Lisa. It was awful. The experience, not the painting. I was in the Louvre, separated from the rest of my family, with a very cranky 3-year-old.

5. Been to the Cadillac Ranch. It’s 10 vintage Cadillacs buried nose-first into the flat Texas plains. Yeah, it’s that exciting.

6. Consumed kopi luwak coffee. It’s the coffee made famous by The Bucket List. I wanted to try it even before that movie. In case you aren’t familiar with the delicacy, the thing that makes the coffee beans so desirable is that they’ve been ingested by the civet cat in Indonesia. Translation: some raccoon’s cousin ate then pooped out the whole coffee bean, still intact. I drank this. I lived.

7. Fixed my washing machine agitator all by myself. Well, me and Google.

8. Eaten and enjoyed calf fries. You know – Rocky Mountain oysters, prairie oysters, Montana tendergroins, cowboy caviar, swinging beef…

9. Written on a presidential candidate’s body. Several years ago I was working at our local triathlon. My job was to write the athlete’s numbers on their thighs with a sharpie. Gary Johnson (former governor of our state) was participating, so I wrote on him. That guy had some rock-hard thighs. Very impressive.

10. Given a real haunted house its backstory. When I was 6 and my brother was 4, we were playing outside at my grandmother’s house. Little brother climbed a tree, then fell out face-first. He left a huge bloody mark on the sidewalk where his forehead smacked the cement. Years later after my grandparents moved out, the local newspaper did a big write-up about the old house and that it was haunted. They even mentioned the bloody mark on the sidewalk as proof of the home’s violent history. I guess I didn’t really have anything to do directly with the story, but I was there when he fell out of the tree, and for some long-forgotten reason, I still feel guilty. Maybe I was supposed to catch him…

11. Been in two car accidents in one day. First one was my fault – I rear-ended a lady in rainy conditions. Second one wasn’t my fault – I was a passenger when the driver ran into someone else. Same rain. We were in his 1966 Mustang and I cracked the dash with my forehead. I lived.

12. Had many unnatural colors in my hair. I’ve done hot pink, electric blue, and purple. On purpose. After the age of 30. Pink is my favorite.

13. Consumed a margarita out of a sippy cup. Recently.

14.  Carried a dead bird out of my house in the last week. Gray Cat brought one in Friday right after I painted my nails. How inconsiderate! I had to get the “dead thing removal” glove while I had my phone in my other hand yelling at my husband, “I hate your cat! I’m carrying a dead bird! I hate your cat!” It grossed me out. I lived.

15. Taught myself how to knit. Five years ago I decided that knitting looked like fun, so I bought a how-to book and figured it out. Can’t crochet to save my life, though.

16. Driven on the wrong side of the road in England. Except it was the right side over there. I had to keep telling myself steering wheel goes in the middle of the road.

17. Lived on a dairy and consumed fresh milk. I have vague memories of this, since I was 5, but I remember my mom straining the milk through cheesecloth and pouring it into large jars. I drank unpasteurized milk and lived.

18. Developed the habit of using both a highlighter and a pen when I grocery shop. Before I go down an aisle, I highlight the things I need on that aisle, then I mark them off with the pen. Anal, but it works. I hate backtracking in the store.

So there are 18 things I’ve done.

Just click here to vote. Nothing more required of you. Thanks!

6 Responses to “18 Things I’ve Done”

  1. veryVERYbusymom November 1, 2011 at 12:40 am #

    Regarding #2 – When I was a kid, my siblings and I used to play on our roof. We didn’t fall off like you did, so we lived too – like you did. It’s a good thing my mom never found out because she would have killed us. In that case, we wouldn’t have lived.

  2. iampotassium November 1, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    Yay! I’ve seen Cadillac Ranch too! This is a fun list. You have done many cool/interesting things. However, I am glad that you lived in all of those possibly tragic cases… 🙂

    • That Nolen Chick November 1, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

      They actually had to move the Cadillac Ranch in the last couple of decades because Amarillo was growing towards it too fast. I saw it pre-move, although I see it from the interstate every time we go see my Grannie.

  3. hbludau November 11, 2011 at 6:40 am #

    I think I’m still “mad” that you went bungee jumping the weekend that I wasn’t there…:P

    • That Nolen Chick November 11, 2011 at 11:19 am #

      I thought you were there! I know Toddly was. What a sad sack that boy was.

Talk to me!

