I Done Jumped In

2 Nov

So I took my first step today (Tuesday). I wrote my first 1,667 words towards a 50,000-word novel. It’s November, National Novel Writing Month. NaNoWriMo.

I’m still kind of working in a state of disbelief that I’m going to do this. The only two manuscripts I’ve written were:
1 – a children’s non-fiction easy-reader with ~1,200 words
and
2 – my England blog – ~90,000 words that I wrote over the course of 6 months without the intent of making it a book

So I feel clueless about writing a book. Especially a fiction book. But I’m going to do it anyway because…well, why not write one? I have only the fuzziest idea of my plot, but I’m just going to see what happens. If all goes well, I’ll have a horrible train-wreck of a manuscript to straighten out over the next few months. If it all goes poorly, I’ll have a partial horrible train-wreck of a manuscript to finish before I can spend months straightening it out. Either way, I’ll be writing. Hopefully I can win. Just so you know, the definition of winning in NaNoWriMo is completing a 50,000-word manuscript.

I named my main character today, but I can’t remember it now. I remember her first name – Victoria – but I had to look back at the manuscript for her last name – Bennett. Victoria Bennett. She hung up on her Master’s adviser today. He was about to go off on a tangent about a secret society. Her excuse for hanging up was that she was in the basement of a building where there was no cell reception.  And she threw away a chunk of brownie that some sugar ants were working on in the History grad students’ common office. Exciting things are happening, right?

Part of me wants to keep writing – I’m on sort of a roll, so why stop? Another part of me wants to hang back – why use all my enthusiasm and inspiration on the first day? Why not save some for day 11? I’ve heard things get weird in week 2. I could get ahead, or I could stop in the middle of a train of thought to ensure I have something to start with tomorrow. After I get dinner cleared away and kids ready for bed, I might crack open the old laptop and work some more, just to see what happens.

Just click here to vote. Nothing more required of you. Thanks!

8 Responses to “I Done Jumped In”

  1. Joy November 2, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Yay–grad school! ALWAYS exciting! 😀 I’m looking forward to hearing about the rest of it.

    • That Nolen Chick November 3, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

      Yeah – grad school. I’m living vicariously through her. No grad school here, unless I can get a PhD in laundry. Cause I’d have that thing wrapped up.

  2. Reading (and chickens) November 2, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    I’ve always heard great things about NaNoWriMo but have yet to ever do it! I’m still revising (endless slog) before I submit to agents. Ack. So, I’m like seventeen years away from submitting.

    • That Nolen Chick November 3, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

      I’ve got to have something TO revise for the next 17 years, so that’s what this month is about.

  3. Dawn@LlightenUp! November 3, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    Man. I cannot imagine writing fiction. Hats off to you, and Godspeed, victoria Bennett!

    • That Nolen Chick November 3, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

      Thanks! As of today (3rd day), it’s not too hard. Yesterday, my main character got a new name. She’s now Natalie. Go figure.

  4. Craftwhack November 7, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    So impressed. I love your reason for writing a novel, too. Why not? Yeah! Good luck with Victoria-Natalie. I just started the Blogher write-every-day-in-November challenge, and that one’s hard enough for me to tackle right now.

    • That Nolen Chick November 7, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

      Thanks for the encouragement! I think writing a blog every day is hard, so GOOD LUCK to you, too!!

Talk to me!

