An Interview With #3

21 Nov

I’m going to do a series of interviews with my children. First up is Kid #3, who wants to go by the name “Lucy.” The reason I’m interviewing her first is because of the three kids sitting here drinking hot chocolate with me, she’s the closest.

Me: Why the name Lucy?

Lucy: The name Lucy is fun.

Me: What important things do you think my readers should know about you?

Lucy: Um, that the name Lucy came from this book called “Narnia.” Uh…that…Lucy is 11 and I’m 5. (sips spoonful of hot chocolate)

Me: How was your-

Lucy: (seeing an ad on TV) MOM, THEY’RE SELLING HELLO KITTY TOYS AT MCDONALD’S!!!

Me: Back to what I was saying, how was your day at school?

Lucy: Good.

Me: That’s all you’ve got?

Lucy: No. It was awesome and I had a good time and it was awesome. Because me, L, and H played together. We were playing baby African leopards. You have to use a whole other page for that. “African Leopard.”

Me: How do you play that?

Lucy: Um,we just pretend to be baby African leopards. And usually someone comes along and says, “Can I play with you?” and we say “Yeah, sure,” and they end up being the person who finds us.

Kid #2: (big sister, age 8 ) Then they get tired of it and don’t come back the next day. (she can’t keep her nose out of anyone else’s business, my Kid #2).

Lucy: Usually we get new people every day. Um, and sometimes we um, did you just type “um”?

Kid #2: Let me see! Let me see!

Kid #1: Seriously? (big brother is a bit jaded at the ripe old age of 10)

Lucy: (takes another spoon-sip from her hot chocolate)

Me: Anything else you want to say? Think really hard.

Lucy: Hmmmmmm. Mom, type “hmmmmmm.” (stroking her chin thoughtfully) Mom, what did you type so far?

I read back that last line and she giggles.

Lucy: (gets out of chair and dances and sings) I’m shaking my boo-tay!

And she’s done. What she didn’t tell you is that she’s 5 1/2 and in kindergarten. When she was 4 she wanted to grow up and be a butterfly. She’s our free spirit and she laughs lots.

Just click here to vote. Nothing more required of you. Thanks!

8 Responses to “An Interview With #3”

  1. Gina November 21, 2011 at 4:09 am #

    Super cute that girl of yours!

  2. That Nolen Chick November 21, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    Thanks, G!

  3. Emelda Hudson Brown November 21, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    LOL “I’m shaking my boo-tay!” She’s a hoot and so are the others. 🙂

  4. juliesaysyay November 21, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    So, so cute. I totally playing baby African Leopards when I get home.

  5. veryVERYbusymom November 25, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    I love how “Lucy” loves playing African leopards. Do you think she chose Lucy for the alliteration? Lucy Leopard? No wonder her ears pricked up at the mention of Hello Kitty. She’s what African leopards eat for supper.

    • That Nolen Chick November 25, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

      LOL! You’re right about Hello Kitty! It’s like saying “Hello Snack” or “Hello Dinner.” Too funny!

  6. Wendi November 30, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    I love Lucy.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Just a Quickie « that nolen chick - January 20, 2012

    […] I managed to get it cut out. Adding to this week’s weirdness, today (17th) is Lucy‘s 6th birthday, and the 19th is Baby Tay’s, so we have double birthday fun this […]

Talk to me!

