I got a mug for Christmas from a stranger

19 Dec

In my feeble attempts to grow my platform, I read and comment on other blogs. One of those is A Belle, a Bean, and a Chicago Dog. Back in October or November (I can’t remember because it’s Saturday and my kids woke me up at an unholy early hour today) Liz proposed the second annual Mug Swap. The point of this was for each of the participants to make a mug promoting her blog to send to another blogger, a la Secret Santa.

I sent my mug to A New Kind of Normal’s Jamee. Turns out, we share a fondness for a certain investigating former Marine who swigs coffee like a pirate downs rum and employs the head slap as a means of keeping his subordinates in line. I tried to think of a Gibbs-worthy haiku to put on the mug, but came up with nothing. Ironically enough, I think that’s exactly the kind of haiku Gibbs would write – the nonexistent kind. Abby, however, is another story. I ended up putting a joke on the mug that Jamee reminded me was an Abby joke. What’s brown and sticky? A stick. LOL!

Anyway, my mug came from Ali at My Suitcase Full of Tricks and it’s perfect. It’s the perfect size for my morning, mid-morning, late mid-morning, pre-lunch, noon, post-lunch, (see the trend here?) cuppa joe. And when I need to leave my house, I don’t take it with me, but if I need to warm up some coffee for my travel mug, my suitcase mug is the perfect size for nuking the right amount of coffee to pour into my travel mug. Because even though my travel mug is totally awesome and has a valve that shuts so I don’t dump hot coffee all over the baby, it’s not microwave safe. But my suitcase mug is.

Wanna see it?

Thanks, Ali! I heart my mug!

7 Responses to “I got a mug for Christmas from a stranger”

  1. Ali - suitcasetricks December 19, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    YAY! I’m a stranger and an awesome nukable mug maker! So glad I got to send it to YOU! And I’m TOTALLY strange, so stranger fits perfectly. It goes great with the elf!

    • Liz December 19, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

      Ali, you are so damn funny! Controlling the population one post at a time??

      I think you two are actually pretty perfectly matched. 😉

  2. That Nolen Chick December 19, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Strange strangers know how to make the best nukable/elf-huggable blog mugs. I’m nuking mine now. Empty. Just for fun. Because I can.

    I think it’s gone through the dishwasher only once since I got it because it’s ALWAYS in use, and the only reason it made it in that time was because my hubby stuck it in when I wasn’t looking. The sneak.

  3. veryVERYbusymom December 19, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    Someone needs to create the spill-proof travel mug that’s microwaveable. They’d make a mint. Why don’t you do it, put “That Nolan Chick” on the front, and you’ll be more famous than the Golden Arches.

  4. Kelley December 20, 2011 at 3:05 am #

    Well, isn’t that a cute mug?? I like that idea. I didn’t participate. Too bad for me! BTW, I love the stick joke. Ha!

    • That Nolen Chick December 20, 2011 at 6:47 am #

      The stick joke is one of my faves. Brown and sticky…ha!

Talk to me!

