One Word. But I Break The Rules.

4 Jan

Today on the way to the gym, I was listening to the radio. The DJ was yammering on about something, but I tuned in enough to hear her say something to the effect of, “Forget resolutions. Choose one word and make your year about that.”

Not a bad idea, I thought as I pulled into an icy parking spot at the YMCA. I whipped out my smartphone and e-mailed myself a quick note that just said, “one word,” because I knew if I didn’t send myself a reminder, I’d forget. Mommy Brain does that to a normally sane person.

Sure enough, I forgot all about it until later in the afternoon when I checked my e-mail. See how I worked in the “Afternoons with That Nolen Chick” theme there? Anyway, I started thinking about it. One word for my whole 2012. What would it be? More importantly, though, what COULD it be?

Published

That’s a good one. I’d like that one. But I want more for my year. What about that pesky pound I put on over Christmas? Added to the 6 I gained during NaNoWriMo in November and the 30 I still had to lose before all that mess, I think I want more out of my One Word.

Successful

Yeah, that one’s loaded. Plus, if I don’t have a successful year, what kind of 2013 will that usher in? I can just see the One Word for next year if I fail – Recovery.

I’m going to break the One Word rule and go with two words I mentioned a couple of days ago: Ambitious Craziness.

This fits. I can make it work for all areas of my life, plus it sounds fun. I think I’m going to make a t-shirt. Want one?

What’s your One (or more) Word?

4 Responses to “One Word. But I Break The Rules.”

  1. Elizabeth Myers January 4, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    The only word I could think of was “baloney.” Hmm.

    • That Nolen Chick January 5, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      Not a bad word overall. I think you of all people could make it work to your advantage.

  2. lesliehobson January 5, 2012 at 7:06 am #

    I like the idea of one word. I just can’t seem to narrow it down to just one. Hmmm indeed.

    • That Nolen Chick January 5, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

      It’s tough. That’s why I chose two. It’s both ambitious and crazy. Good luck with your word(s)!

Talk to me!

