Yeah, She’s “Sick”

9 Jan

Kid #2 (A or Awesome Chick as she has dubbed herself) puked last night. It had been a long day: first day back at school after the holiday, followed by her first modern dance class at the local dance studio. She had less than an hour to walk home from school (1/2 mile), get a snack, change, and hop in the car for me to take her to class.  When I picked her up 90 minutes later, all seemed fine.

At home, we joined the fam for Indian food (one of the few meals everyone eats without complaint), but A begged off, saying she wanted to go to bed. Uh oh. When she does this, it usually means she’s working on a migraine, so we let her go to bed, hoping that sleep would stave off the headache. Alas, no.  A short while later, she puked. This is par for the course with her.

So this morning when she got up, she asked if she was going to school or not. Now, had this been child #1, I would have been very skeptical of the desire to stay home. #1 is always looking for ways to get out of school. It’s not that he doesn’t like school, he just likes staying home more. #2, on the other hand, hates missing class, so when she said her tummy still hurt, I gave her the benefit of the doubt and let her stay here with me and the baby.

How is she? you might be wondering. After she  played rather loudly with Baby Tay all morning, I decided she was well enough to go to Wal Mart with me. It’s a 30-minute drive from home, and I didn’t need much, so I figured she’d be ok. And she was. We even got back in time for me to run by school and pick up the lunch I paid for. We don’t get credit for sick days and I’m cheap. Anyway, after she ate most of her lunch, she started playing on the Xbox. She’s still playing.

She’s fine. Isn’t that how it always goes? I, on the other hand, feel like I’m coming down with something and I missed the window of opportunity to work out this morning since A was at home. She’s too little to stay home by herself and too big for the child watch program at the Y. At least I made it to Wally World, so the morning wasn’t a total bust.

Oh, and I got a box of meat from UPS today.

4 Responses to “Yeah, She’s “Sick””

  1. Kelley January 9, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    That is a lot of meat! I hate that your daughter had to deal with migraines. I used to get them a lot when I worked full-time. Not fun! Glad you let her stay home.

    • That Nolen Chick January 9, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

      Nothing like a box o’ meat to brighten an afternoon.

      She’s learning to recognize the early signs and take action. Usually the headaches are triggered by dehydration, hunger, or tiredness.

  2. thechocolatepudding January 9, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    Meat mail. That is all.

Talk to me!

