Full Disclosure

11 Jan

This is something with which I’ve been wrestling for several months now. How does being a Christian writer in the mainstream blogosphere work? I have no idea.

This is my best questioning look. Like it?

At its simplest, I can compartmentalize. I can write and never mention my beliefs. This is what I’ve been doing and I’m not really happy with it. I feel like there’s something more I need to be doing, and this is the part I’m getting hung up on. To the extreme, I could go All Out and start pointing fingers, thumping Bibles, and naming names.

“You! You over there in that dark corner of the internet – what are you doing? I see you! I see your poor political choices. I see how you treat your spouse. I see what you write about your children. I see how you idolize that thing you idolize. Repent, for the Kingdom of the Lord is near!!”

Yeah. I think I would alienate everyone but myself. Plus, I don’t think that’s how Jesus would have acted. Honestly though, I’m not even sure Jesus would have had a blog, so this is probably a moot point.

I know I’m supposed to be bold in my faith. I’m supposed to have selfless faith. That was a line from a song we sang in church this Sunday and it really got to me. Selfless faith? That’s big. How do I do that?

I guess I can just start by being transparent about my struggles and how I’m dealing with them. Like now. Full disclosure. So shall we start with an introduction?

Hi. I’m April. I’m a Christian. I want to be a published writer who brings glory to God, who points to Him when I succeed and who runs to Him when I fail. (The Tebow of my little corner of the world? I don’t think I could do that knee-praying thing as often as he does, though. My knees are older than his.) I’ve been doing a lot of failing lately and wondering how to be successful…and what the definition of successful should even be for me as a Christian author.

So that’s it for today. For those of you who know me personally, mwah! Kisses to you. For those of you who don’t know me personally but who are fellow believers, I’d love to know how you’re dealing with this in your own life. Because I think we all do.

And most importantly, for those of you who aren’t Christians, stick with me. If nothing else, you can say that you actually know a conservative(ish) Christian who doesn’t think Barack Obama is evil. I didn’t vote for him, but I don’t hate him, either.

8 Responses to “Full Disclosure”

  1. Jo Eberhardt January 11, 2012 at 4:17 am #

    I have no real comment on your full disclosure. I don’t talk about my own religion/spirituality on my blog by choice but have no real opinion on other people doing so. (Although too much “my belief or the highway” talk is not a lot of fun.)

    I just wanted to comment to ask if you’re following literary agent Rachelle Gardner’s blog? Up until a week or so ago, Rachelle worked for a specifically Christian market agency, and only accept Christian market submissions. She’s just moved to a new agency, but still focuses on Christian works. She’s got a lot of information about being a Christian writer, and there’s a really supportive community of writers that hovers around her.

    If you haven’t checked her out before, you can find her at: http://www.rachellegardner.com/

    • That Nolen Chick January 11, 2012 at 8:09 am #

      Thanks for the info, Jo! I follow her on Twitter, but hadn’t checked out her blog yet.

  2. Heidi Bludau January 11, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    I don’t have any answers to give. But I understand how you feel. I’m a practicing Catholic who teaches anthropology. Luckily, I haven’t had to step into territory that directly defies my own beliefs, but then again, I love teaching my students how different societies believe and behave differently because they have different belief (and/or religious) systems and worldviews.

    Personally, I find that I most appreciate those who lead by example. But then, I’m a liberal anthropologist, wait, conservative anthropologist…balance. That’s my advice to you. Balance and integrity.

    Mwah!! Right back at you!

    • That Nolen Chick January 11, 2012 at 10:29 am #

      Glad to know I’m not the only one with this problem.

      Love you, HB! Or is that DR. HB now?

  3. Ali - suitcasetricks January 11, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    You just have to write what comes from the heart (what YOU feel good about) and the people who can relate and/or respect that will continue to read. Here’s my example: I have no interest in reading product reviews from other mom bloggers. EVER. If that other blogger writes enough other things that I DO care about or relate to I still visit them. But too many non-relatable posts…doesn’t work for me.

    • That Nolen Chick January 11, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

      Thanks, Ali. I appreciate your input! Hey – FYI – in a couple of days my faboo mug will be making an appearance again… 😉

  4. KKSorrell January 14, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    I ask this question, too. I don’t want it to seem that I am NOT a person of faith online, but I also want to appeal to all different kinds of people. So one of my categories or tabs at the top of my blog is Spirituality, rather than Christianity or Religion or Faith. I may be downplaying my faith TOO much, I know. But if you read through my posts under Spirituality and look through my categories and tags, you can tell that I’m a Christian.

    I’m really trying to follow in Madeleine L’Engle’s footsteps. She actually didn’t want to be termed a “Christian writer.” She was a Christian, and she was a writer, and her books have lots of underpinnings of faith, even the fiction books that aren’t necessarily “Christian” – not published by Christian publishers. You can still sense a faith in something bigger, even in God, in her books – but it’s not so overpowering that non-Christians choke on it.

    She also had this idea that making art is an incarnational activity in itself, whether the artist (or writer or actor) is a Christian or not. She talks about this in her book Walking on Water – awesome read if you haven’t read it!

    In the end, I guess I don’t have an exact answer, but you’ve really got me thinking! 🙂

    • That Nolen Chick January 14, 2012 at 9:15 am #

      Excellent thoughts! Thanks for sharing. I LOVE Madeleine L’Engle. Going to have to read “Walking on Water” now.

Talk to me!

