It’s Not Me, It’s You. But You were Spot-On.

16 Jan

Friday I got the nicest rejection letter I’ve received yet. It was regarding my easy-reader Stephen F. Austin manuscript. Want the highlights?

1 – It came via e-mail just 8 days after I mailed out my query letter. That’s fast.

2 – It wasn’t a form letter. It was actually written TO ME.

3 – It was complimentary. Here’s the second sentence: You’ve presented a very thorough proposal, and we appreciate your market research on this subject. Wow. It’s good to know my proposal is thorough. Points for me there, and more points for the market research thing.

Then the nice editorial assistant goes on to say that the focus of the book is too regional. I figured that might be an issue. Nothing ventured, nothing gained, am I right, fellow ambitious crazies? I sent out another query this weekend, so my year to-date total is 15. Remember, the goal is 52.

 

4 Responses to “It’s Not Me, It’s You. But You were Spot-On.”

  1. Deana January 16, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    This means you are on the right track. … Start looking for local publishing companies. Places like Dallas, Tulsa, and even Edmond Oklahoma. OR — totally a shot here — self publish it on Amazon for the Kindle. You won’t get rich, but you will get paid AND the royalty split is very author friendly. Another Possibility is West Bow Press which is the self publishing arm of Nelson Publishing.

    • That Nolen Chick January 16, 2012 at 10:34 am #

      I really appreciated this rejection letter. I’ve submitted to a handful of Texas presses (none interested), and I’ve branched out to CO, NM, LA. I’m not giving up.

      The only problem with self-publishing or even making it an e-book on Amazon is that I have zero illustrations or photos. I’m even thinking about making it an enhanced e-book for teachers to use with their iPads, Kindles, Smart Boards, etc. but that means more photos, maps, etc. I’m not even sure I know where to start with an enhanced ebook.

      I figure if I cast my net wide, surely I’ll catch success. Right?

      • John Echols January 16, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

        Try Blurb.com’s iPad eBook thing. It looks really sweet.

  2. Marianne January 16, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    What a great rejection letter! Actual feedback. Keep up the hard work, April!

Talk to me!

