Time To Rip Off the Band-Aid

18 Jan

Two inches thick. And yes, I put it in a pink binder. Pink makes me happy.

Last October, I participated in a webinar with Paula Balzer, an agent with a passion for memoirs. As part of the webinar, I submitted a query letter and the first few pages of my memoir manuscript (186 Days: The Marvelous Adventures of the Fabulous Nolens) for critique. This is the second webinar I’ve participated in with her, plus I read her book, Writing and Selling Your Memoir. Good book. Very helpful.

She responded in a timely manner, but it was smack-dab in the middle of my NaNoWriMo experience, so I flagged the e-mail for later reading. November ended, NaNoWriMo was over, but guess what? It was December. I had to deal with Christmas programs at school, parties, gift-buying and wrapping, packing for the six of us to be away for two weeks, then actually being away for two weeks. The critique languished in my in-box until now.

It’s time to open the e-mail.

But I’m afraid. And very, very nervous. To date, this is my greatest work. This is my biggest work. And I think it’s good. I mean, I don’t think it’s ready today to send out, but I believe the bones are good. What if she tells me the bones are no good? Or worse, what if she tells me that I have months more work to do on it before it’s sumit-able?

I know this is a good thing. I have feedback from a real, live literary agent, just sitting there waiting for me. I also know that once I open the e-mail, my next Big Project is officially underway. I don’t know if I’m ready for that. I have a dress to make for Baby Tay’s two-year-old portrait. We have formal portraits taken of the kids when they’re two – she’s two on Thursday, but I haven’t made the appointment yet. Maybe I should quit blogging and start sewing. Get that out of the way so I can open The E-mail.

Who knows? Maybe it’s a glowing critique praising my skill and begging me to submit the whole manuscript?

.

.

.

.

.

.

Ok – stop laughing. I can dream, can’t I?

8 Responses to “Time To Rip Off the Band-Aid”

  1. Lora Rainoshek Nolen January 18, 2012 at 5:40 am #

    Open it now. What if there is a deadline?

  2. juliesaysyay January 18, 2012 at 8:04 am #

    You’re killing me, Smalls!

    (I do the same thing, the holding my breath and looking through squinty eyes and putting it to the side and waiting and waiting thing)

    Good luck, and do let us know how it goes.

  3. veryVERYbusymom January 18, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    Did you do it yet? Even if it’s not the news you want. at least you’ll know what you need to work on.

  4. That Nolen Chick January 18, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    LOL – no deadline, just some simple advice. “Cut out the extra words.” That’s going to be hard for me. I tend to be verbosely verbose.

    Also, I’m going to have to watch “The Sandlot.” Had to Google that phrase, Julie!

  5. Laura January 18, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

    I totally understand your fear of opening it. In your shoes, I would ask Steve (if he has time) to skim it for me and tell me if the tone is positive or negative. That would soften the blow if it’s not a pat on the back and take the fear factor away. Just a thought. I’m certain it’s a wonderful piece because I read it as you wrote it originally and I loved it. Fantastic stuff.

  6. Kelley January 18, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    Open it! Open it! I’m anxious to know what it says!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Contents of THAT E-Mail « that nolen chick - January 20, 2012

    […] couple of days ago I mentioned an e-mail I’d received from an agent. Before you go getting yourself all impressed with me, I should […]

  2. How Really Very Totally Wordy Am I? And A Contest! « that nolen chick - January 26, 2012

    […] how I opened that critique e-mail from an agent and learned that I need to be less wordy in my writing? Well, I did a quick and dirty […]

Talk to me!

