Contents of THAT E-Mail

20 Jan

A couple of days ago I mentioned an e-mail I’d received from an agent. Before you go getting yourself all impressed with me, I should tell you that it was a teacher/student kind of e-mail.

Anyway, I opened it. Want to know what she said? Tighten my writing. That’s going to be a tough one. I love words. I love words so much that I love repeating them. Or making up new ones, then repeating them. I know this is a vital skill I need to hone, I’m just not looking forward to it. Did I mention that my manuscript is two inches thick? That’s a lot of tightening. I might take bets on how much I cut out.

What if I edit out the wrong word? The word that made the sentence go from mildly amusing to wildly hilarious? What if I edit out all my personality because I’m trying to tighten things up? Is that possible? One of my problems is that I write almost exactly like I speak. Except I don’t have a delete button for my speech bubbles. And I don’t have the luxury of previewing what I say before I make it public. But other than that, it’s just the same.

I’ll start with the easy ones: very, really, and totally. If I do a search on each of those words, I can quickly zap them out of existence. I’ve even toyed with the idea of blindly deleting those words from the manuscript just to see if I notice a difference. That would be an interesting experiment. I’ll take bets on how many words I delete.

I’m ready to jump in and get started, except I can’t right now. I have to get this dress finished for Baby Tay’s two-year-old portrait. She turned two on Thursday and I want to get the pictures scheduled for the next couple of weeks. Pictures are forthcoming. Maybe tomorrow. In the meantime, the pink binder lurks along the fringes of my thoughts.

Enough of the blogging. I have to get back to work on the dress so I can start writing again. Stupid ambitious craziness.

One Response to “Contents of THAT E-Mail”

  1. iampotassium January 20, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    I totally understand what you mean about cutting words out… They could be important! I think your plan to start with the very’s and the totally’s is a good idea though. Also, I totally write the same way I talk too. >_<

Talk to me!

