Selfish Wishes for 2012

23 Jan

Since 2012 is the year of ambitious craziness, I figured I’d make some out-there wishes for myself this year. These wishes are different from my goals because I’m working toward reaching my goals. My wishes may or may not happen, and some of them are completely out of my control.

America's Funniest Home Videos

Image via Wikipedia

 

1 – I wish that America’s Funniest Videos would call and tell me that our video of Baby Tay is going to be one of the top three videos on one of their shows. We videoed her while she was eating spaghetti noodles (sans sauce). It was one of her early forays into solid foodland, and she didn’t quite know what the rules were. Like “no dropping food over the side of the high chair.” When she held out her little fist with a few noodles, hubs and I both said, “No.” We didn’t yell or make a big deal, just said the word. You’d have thought we had taken away her favorite soft yellow Duckie by the way her little face crumpled. She started crying with a heart-wrenching sob, then held another handful of noodles over the side of her tray. We told her no again, and this time she turned her face away from us, as if she was saying, “I can’t bear to even look at you mean people.” This happened several more times, except she would pause the crying while she held out her little fist with the food, then turning on the sobs again when we said no. Honestly, you’d think we were torturing the poor thing. I had to work to keep from laughing while I was holding the camera.

2 – I wish that when we’re on AFV, we would win the $10K. Momma needs a bathroom remodel. Related to this is the wish that at the Big Show of Winners, we’d win the $100K prize. Momma really needs a kitchen remodel and a new(er) car. I don’t care if we win the Biggest Show of Big Show Winners and the lifetime of Disney vacations. I just want a bigger kitchen.

A box of Cheerios breakfast cereal.

Image via Wikipedia

 

3 – I wish that the children’s story I submitted to Cheerios last year would win their contest. You know how they have cereal boxes with little books tucked inside? Yeah – I submitted a little story called, “Not Me” to that. I wrote it a couple of summers ago out of frustration when all three big kids kept responding “Not me,” to my queries about who did various no-no stuff around the house.

4 – My biggest wish is for a weekend away. From everyone. I want to get a room at a hotel at least 15 miles away from home, check in on Friday afternoon, and not come home until Sunday afternoon. I want to sleep, I want to take an uninterrupted bath, I want to order room service, I want to stay in my PJs all day without feeling guilty, and I want to write.

Honestly, out of all these wishes, I think I have the best chances with Tom Bergeron and AFV.

You have any wishes?

One Response to “Selfish Wishes for 2012”

  1. Deana January 23, 2012 at 7:17 am #

    Excellent desires.

    Tell you what – I can’t give you a hotel, but I can give you something… check your twitter for a DM, kay?

Talk to me!

