How Really Very Totally Wordy Am I? And A Contest!

26 Jan

Remember how I opened that critique e-mail from an agent and learned that I need to be less wordy in my writing? Well, I did a quick and dirty edit on my manuscript just now. I removed all of the VERYs, TOTALLYs, REALLYs, and for good measure, the MARVELOUSes. I was going to target MARVELOUS anyway because I know I overused it. The manuscript is in blog format, and each post title contained MARVELOUS as part of my gimmick. Originally, the blog was just for family and friends and they were very forgiving of my kitsch. The title was “The Marvelous Adventures of the Fabulous Nolens,” after all.

Anybody want to guess how many words I removed? Let’s have a contest! Winner is the person who makes the closest guess. I’ll send you something interesting. Here’s a frame of reference: the original manuscript was 88,662 words. It covered 186 days of my family’s daily lives and adventures in England with a couple of short trips to Scotland, Ireland, and France thrown in for good measure and entertainment value.

So how many superlatives did I slash? Contest is open until midnight MST, Saturday, January 28, 2012. You can have 5 entries in the contest. In addition to total words cut, you can also guess how many each of VERY, REALLY, TOTALLY, and MARVELOUS I removed. Leave your best guesses in the comments section and make sure to include your email so I can let you know if you win. If you are one of my Facebook buddies reading this, you can leave your guess here or in the Facebook comments.

I’ll send the 5 winners something interesting. I promise it won’t be something my kids think is interesting like a broken Happy Meal toy they found on their walk home from school. It will be something I find interesting like an expensive chocolate bar from the organic grocery store.

6 Responses to “How Really Very Totally Wordy Am I? And A Contest!”

  1. Deana January 26, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    1st guess, 186 posts x 10 words per post = 1,860 words.

    2nd guess, you had to tighten even more once you took out the superlatives, so my final guess is 3,482 yep, it’s random.

  2. Christine Isett January 26, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    My guess is approximately 1,600 superlatives. (I love contests!!!)

  3. Emelda Brown January 26, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    So if I pull out the manuscript and count the words you would cut, do I still get to be in the contest? 😉

  4. Lizanne Hatfield January 26, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    Total Words = I am going to guess 23,000!
    Very = 11,887
    Totally = 3,465
    Really = 5,223
    Marvelous = 2,425

    By the way…I think this is totally a marvelous contest and I am very excited! Really!!! ; )

  5. Laura January 26, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    Total words cut: 592

    very: 150

    Just wild guesses. If I win, let me know at lauracummins@netzero.com 🙂

  6. Jo Eberhardt January 26, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

    I’m way too far away for a chocolate bar, but I love guessing competitions. 🙂

    Very = 2700
    Totally = 1300
    Really = 1500
    Marvellous = 600

    Total = 6,100 words

Talk to me!

