What We Can Learn from Phineas and Ferb

8 Feb

I love “Phineas and Ferb” on the Disney Channel. It’s the only show the kids watch that I will stop what I’m doing to watch with them. I mean, I pay attention (sorta) to the stuff that’s coming out of the boob tube, but since they watch Disney Channel more often than anything else, I really only have to pay attention about 1/8 of the time because Disney is so fond of airing reruns. I think I’ve seen the episode of “Jessie” with Creepy Connie about 12 times now.

But I digress.

I love “Phineas and Ferb,” and I think there are some things we can learn from the characters:

  1. Think big. The brothers always come up with these crazy inventions, limited only by their imaginations. Portal to Mars, anyone?
  2. Never give up on your dream. Candace is forever trying to bust her brothers, and is willing (most of the time) to put her other dreams (dating Jeremy) in the backseat as she pursues this goal with frightening single-mindedness.
  3. Be willing to help. Isabella and the Fireside Girls are always available to help Phineas & Ferb when their plan needs an assist. They even went to the Old Abandoned Old Abandoned Amusement Park (yes, you read that right) to get some sap from the only maraca nut tree in existence.
  4. Having an obscure animal as a pet is cool. Perry is so awesome that I have his un-spellable noise as my e-mail alert tone on my phone. I also have the Kimmunicator’s beeping as my text tone, but that’s a different show for a different post. But still, cool obscure animal as a pet in that one, too: the naked mole rat.
    Perry as a "normal" platypus.
    Perry the Platypus. Image via Wikipedia
  5. Moms and dads are oblivious. Wait. Is this something we need to be learning? Scratch that one.
  6. Sometimes it’s easier to befriend the bully than it is to fight him. Witness Baljeet and Buford.
  7. Did I mention never give up on your dreams? Yeah, that’s an extra big one for me. I read that the creators of this show pitched it for 16 years before Disney picked it up. 16 years! How much is that in platypus years?

So – my goal in life right now is to submit, submit, submit. Maybe in the future some other aspiring-to-accomplish-something person will read about how long it took me to break into publishing and they’ll be amazed that nobody had the foresight to snatch up my manuscript sooner.

Now I want to hear from you. What are some lessons you think are good to take away from P&F? (For real – comment, people!)

8 Responses to “What We Can Learn from Phineas and Ferb”

  1. Calysta February 8, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Personally, I like the celebration of family in P & F. I tend to note the presentation of family in the media (can you think of a commercial that stars more than two kids?), and the fact that this show has a family with three kids who genuinely enjoy each other is lovely. There isn’t even bitterness between Candace and her brothers. The mom may not know what the kids are doing (the dad does, right?), but the show never treats her as foolish or idiotic. The parents still maintain their authority, and the kids still retain their childlike joy and wonder at the world.

    Also, there’s a musical number. More shows should involve the spontaneous soundtracking of one’s own life.

  2. Laura February 8, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    I have to say P&F isn’t my favorite show, but my boys and husband love it. I do like the parents, though. They are interesting people who have their own interests and lives. I think that’s cool. Of course, the mom is really into meat loaf which is just a bit odd in my book but her world doesn’t revolve around her kids. I think a lesson is to be learned here. I also think it’s super cool that she’s a redhead, but I’m partial on that score.

  3. Warren Jason Street February 20, 2012 at 6:10 am #

    Phineas & Ferb is an excellent show and I always sing its praises when I can.

    I would say that there are two main things you can take away from it. First, it celebrates the normalcy of the blended family and doesn’t try to turn it into something that it isn’t. Second, the children do not disrespect the adults. Phineas is even polite to Dr. Doofenschmirtz, which says something about manners.

    • That Nolen Chick February 21, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

      Good point about the respecting adults! I like how they always refer to him as the pharmacist, but they’re still polite about it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Animation Monday: 3′s A Crowd | Young's Blog - February 13, 2012

    […] What We Can Learn from Phineas and Ferb (thatnolenchick.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Animation Monday: Phineas and Ferb Live | Young's Blog - March 20, 2012

    […] What We Can Learn from Phineas and Ferb (thatnolenchick.wordpress.com) […]

Talk to me!

