The Girls Talk about V-Day

9 Feb

Today’s post is by Awesome Chick, my 8-year-old daughter. I’ve asked her to speak on the topic of Valentine’s Day.

Scan of a Valentine greeting card dated 1909.

Image via Wikipedia

Me: Tell me about Valentine’s Day.

AC: I think it’s a holiday, one of the two holidays every year, where kids get to eat candy and parents can’t yell at them. I like it because of the candy, but also because of the parties.

Me: Tell me what you think Valentine’s Day was like when I was your age.

AC: Same thing.

Me: What about the Valentine cards?

AC: Same thing.

Me: Well, you got me there. Who’s on your cards this year?

AC: Muppets. Miss Piggy, Kermit, Animal, the bear dude – I can’t remember his name – I think it’s Fuzzy. And there’s that doctor with the really really long name. He looks weird with glasses and no eyes. Also that shrimp dude. And then there’s that Gonzo dude with the hooked nose who thinks he’s an alien on that one movie.

Me: Yeah, nothing changed there. I loved the Muppets, too. How do adults celebrate Valentine’s Day?

I’m switching interview subjects now because AC got bored and left. I’m now interviewing Lily, my 6-year-old.

Me: What would be the perfect Valentine’s Day for you?

L: If I woke up and got a dog and got a lot of Valentines from my family who lives far away, my family here, friends. Some would be Hello Kitty with Hello Kitty lollipops. I’d eat 10 pancakes shaped like hearts with smiley faces on them, and whipped cream, butter, and also don’t forget the syrup. At school, we’d have a Valentine party all day long. I would bring my dog to school. It’s a golden retriever…no, wait, go back…it’s a Dalmatian named Lucky and it would have a rainbow collar with a little heart on it. We’d eat ice cream for lunch. Chocolate ice cream. After school, I would have my own Valentine’s party with all my friends all night long. I’d eat dinner with my friends and I would eat steak and strawberries and for dessert, ice cream.

Me: How do you think Daddy and I should celebrate Valentine’s Day?

L: You would come with me, but Daddy would stay at work and have a Valentine’s party there. And then you would celebrate with me and my class and have a great time.

So there you have it. I’m destined to spend my Valentine’s Day with a sugared-up class of kindergarteners.

 

4 Responses to “The Girls Talk about V-Day”

  1. Emelda February 9, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    Awesome Chick has great descriptions for the Muppets: shrimp dude, the bear dude, Gonzo dude – LOL. And how did you convince her there are only two holidays kids get to eat candy and parents can’t yell at them? I know there are several more, I just need to delete those from Hannah’s memory some how.
    Lily (aka Lucy I thought) has quite a perfect day on her mind – several references to a dog (Did you get that Mom? She wants a dog!), SUGAR in too many forms, a little protein to help get all the SUGAR go down, Dad has to miss all the SUGAR but can party at work, and the siblings are out of luck completely.
    Where is Baby Tait during all this SUGAR fest? And Epic Dude? Donde esta Gray Cat? These questions are still needing an answer from Lily (aka Lucy I thought)!
    Hannah (Diva Princess Prissy Whiny Pants) finished her cards for school and took two cans of cheese in a can (for her party). Yes, I was early getting things done. No, I have no idea why they need cheese in a can for a Valentine’s Day party. And no, I don’t know why they can have a Valentine’s Day party, but not a “Halloween” party. And no, they do not have a Christmas party, it’s a Winter celebration with snow people, Santa, reindeer, Christmas songs, Christmas trees, etc.

    • That Nolen Chick February 11, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

      Yeah, can you tell we use the word “dude” a lot here? I’m the most frequent offender.

  2. Dr. Bubba February 10, 2012 at 7:38 am #

    Great, we have to have a V-Day party at work? Steve is going to owe me for once.

Talk to me!

