What’s In Your Kitchen Junk Drawer?

12 Feb

I’ll show you mine…

A few things that might need explaining: Our space is limited, so our junk drawer also holds our potholders and dishcloths. Not that it matters a whit, but I do fold the cloths when I put them in the drawer. I also keep baby washcloths in here to clean kids after meals, although I should probably just toss them. We keep a box of wipes in the kitchen for that purpose now. It’s easier and the wipes don’t sour in the sink.

I have to hide a glue stick in here so I always know where at least one is. The superglue and Gorilla glue also live in this drawer. See that white pen with the pink swirls? It’s one of three dual highlighter/pen combos that I own. Remember those from my “see how weird my grocery shopping system is” post?

And that pink/orange thing in the back of the drawer is a felted knit coffee cozy I made a few years ago. It’s not quite the right size for any normal disposable coffee cups, but it sure is pretty, so I keep it. There are also foreign coins in there.

One more picture for your enjoyment. This is our baby proofing system for the drawers under and including the junk drawer. It’s worked for preventing 3 girls from breaking into drawers. Why mess with perfection?

I would say, “ignore the dirty-ish floor and the smudges on the drawer fronts,” but instead I’ll say, “I have 4 kids and my first priority is NOT cleaning.”

I’ve showed you mine – what’s in yours? By the way, in response to my “What’s in Your Purse?” post, someone told me that a friend found her 4-week-old baby’s umbilical cord in her purse. Ick. She wins.

5 Responses to “What’s In Your Kitchen Junk Drawer?”

  1. Brenda Houlton Kelley February 12, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

    I would love to tell you what is in my junk drawer, even just in the kitchen junk drawer but the fact is that I would be inventorying every drawer in the house…

  2. veryVERYbusymom February 12, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    What’s in my kitchen junk drawer? Junk food, of course.

    • That Nolen Chick February 13, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

      Junk food – of course! How silly of me to overlook the obvious.

  3. Meghan February 13, 2012 at 7:42 am #

    Limited space? I have ONE drawer in my whole kitchen. It was never babyproofed. So I never really know what will be in it. It is supposed to hold tape and can openers and misc kitchen implements that don’t fit into the containers I have for them. But Crazy Boy often gets his paws on them and leaves them behind the couch. Sigh…

    • That Nolen Chick February 13, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

      One drawer? Yikes! That’s one way to prevent junk buildup.

Talk to me!

