My Perfect Valentine’s Day

14 Feb

In case you missed all the post-Christmas marketing, today is Valentine’s Day. Or Tuesday, as I’m going to be calling it. For us, it will be a regular day. If I had my “druthers,” my Tuesday would go like this:

  • I get to sleep late. We’re not talking 7:30, either. Full-on teenager sleeping late. Noon or later. Or earlier, if I get bored. And no guilt about not getting breakfast for the kids.
  • I get to sit in my comfy chair with my feet on the ottoman and watch whatever shows I want all day long. No Mickey, Jessie, or whatever weirdness my son watches on Cartoon Network. No guilt, either, because my shows are infinitely better.
  • A mobile masseur visits and gives my shoulders and neck a workout. To work out the knots and stress from guilt.
  • A mobile manicurist visits and prettifies my nails. Because hot pink polish is not the color of guilt.
  • I can eat all the chocolate I want with no Weight Watcher points attached. Same for peanut butter.
  • My mom visits and takes the kids for the evening. Not even close to feeling guilty because they’ll probably have more fun than I’m having.
  • Crab dinner (at home) with hubs. No dishes to wash = no guilt that they’re sitting in the sink not being washed.
  • Early bedtime. For sleep. For real. All that guilt-free living takes its toll.

Can I live the high life or what? All this, by the way, is done while I’m wearing my PJs. The only thing that would make it better is if we had a hot tub and I could sit in it for a while.

Lest you think we’re slackers, know this: we’re tired parents of 4 kids. We live in a small town with limited fine dining options. Plus, Hubs and #1 have a fencing class tomorrow night. It’s their first, and I don’t think they should miss it.

So what about your Tuesday? Any special plans? Any normal plans?

9 Responses to “My Perfect Valentine’s Day”

  1. aplaceforrene February 14, 2012 at 4:29 am #

    In a perfect world I would wake up to an entirely spotless house.
    My children would wake up to a magical valentine land, of course created by me inspired by all the Pintrest fodder.
    They would have their perfect valentine breakfast of sugar and more sugar.
    After the carpool drops I’d head over to the quietest spa in town for an entire day of pampering.
    I’d come home to flowers and surprises from my man, get dressed up look like a million buck and head out to one of our favorite expensive restaurants downtown.

    Alas my day will consist of driving for a 4th grade field trip and warmed up left overs… but I do love to dream. And my kids will be just as happy with their new jammies tossed in a gift bag as they would be with all the stuff they didn’t see on Pintrest.

    • That Nolen Chick February 14, 2012 at 6:12 am #

      It’s a good thing my fam doesn’t know about Pinterest, either. Enjoy the field trip!

  2. Colline February 14, 2012 at 6:01 am #

    Today will be an ordinary day. The children and I created Valentine’s cards for their classes and they are to have a little fun at school. For me, the day will be as any other Tuesday. And tonight? Maybe my hubby will bring us some chocolate for dessert ….

    • That Nolen Chick February 14, 2012 at 6:12 am #

      Here’s hoping for some chocolate to end your day.

      • Colline February 14, 2012 at 6:15 am #

        Thanks – I suspect he will buy us a chocolate mousse cake – our favourite 🙂

  3. kksorrell February 14, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    Love it!!! It would be SO nice to sleep in and watch what I want to watch!!! 🙂 Great post.

    • That Nolen Chick February 15, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

      I steal my moments of TV time here and there – mostly while I’m drying my hair and have to turn the CC on so I can follow the dialogue over the hairdryer’s noise.

  4. Laura February 15, 2012 at 5:42 am #

    We made cookies and took them to the church office. The pastor was too busy to accept John’s plate of cookies. That was a lovely moment that I’m glad only slightly disappointed my feelings but my son didn’t notice.

    • That Nolen Chick February 15, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

      You’re such a good mom! I don’t even think about stuff like making cookies for people other than the 6 under this roof.

Talk to me!

