Thank You, Older Children

16 Feb

When my oldest was a baby, I guarded my words carefully. Not like I cussed like a sailor or anything, but I decided certain words were off-limits for my darling child’s ears: stupid, idiot, and jerk, among others. I used language that a preschool-teaching nun would be proud of. It wasn’t too different than how I usually spoke, I just didn’t refer to my rear end as my butt anymore.

Even as kid #2 came along, I was able to keep a handle on the language. Granted, #1 was just a couple of years older than the baby and his vocabulary wasn’t immense, but still, good words.

Things started changing when #3 came along. #1 was nearing kindergarten and the “potty-humor” phase. It was a minor struggle, and the worst word my son used was “fart.”

Baby #4 turned 2 last week. The older kids are 10, 8, and 6. We still try to keep a close handle on the language – stupid, idiot, and jerk are still not allowed, nor is shut up. I was changing Baby’s diaper last week. I opened up her wet diaper and found lots of cracker crumbs trapped along her waistline. I teased her, “You’ve got crumbs in your diaper! What other food do you have in there?”

Know what she said? “Taco on my butt.”

Thank you, dear children, for teaching your sister how to talk.

Hard-shell taco with meat, cheese, lettuce, to...

The taco is bigger than the baby's butt. Image via Wikipedia.

2 Responses to “Thank You, Older Children”

  1. iampotassium February 16, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Haha! Ooooh #4… You will grow up with an interesting vocabulary. My parents didn’t let us say the word “hate.” The first time it slipped out and I told my sister I hated her (I don’t even know what she did now), I couldn’t sleep that night because I thought I had said a horrible word. >_<

    • That Nolen Chick February 16, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

      Yeah, that’s another of the no-no words. Unlike “butt,” that word will never be removed from the no-no list. You must have good parents, Ms. Potassium.

Talk to me!

