Stupid Keflings

17 Feb

Hubs bought an Xbox last November. We also have a new Wii that we got in December, a broken Wii, 3-4 computers (depending on if we count hubs’s work laptop), a GameCube, a couple of Nintendo DSs, some older Nintendo handhelds, and two Droid phones.

Plenty of electronicals (as #3 calls them).

None of these with their electronical game-playing hypnotic effects has any hold over me. I’ll play Plants vs. Zombies on occasion, or a silly little game on my phone. Hubs and I have a joint game of the latest Zelda going on the Wii, but even that doesn’t scream at me with a siren call to come and play.

Except for the Keflings.

I was messing around with the kids last weekend on the Xbox, looking at the games we had in our arcade. “A Kingdom for Keflings” caught my attention, so I opened it and started playing. I only played 15 minutes before the free trial ran out and I decided to buy the full version for only $9.99. No biggie.

Stupid Keflings.

They’re all I think about now. In the game, I’m a giant, tasked with building (yes, you guessed it) a kingdom for these little beings called Keflings. I have to harvest the natural resources (lumber, rock, crystals, wool) in order to build components of buildings. Each completed building unlocks more abilities (faster harvesting, etc.) or more blueprints for more buildings. When I build houses, more Keflings show up, and I put them to work as lumberjacks, miners, or sheep shearers so I can build more stuff for them.

Stupid Keflings.

All afternoon I’ve been fighting off the urge to fire up the Xbox and revisit the Keflings. The last thing I built was a jousting arena, and when I finally turned the electronical off, I had lots more buildings to build.

But I have a life! I have kids to feed! I have laundry to clean, dishes to deal with, dinner to cook. I admit that I fed the kids fish sticks two nights ago and eggs last night because it was fast and easy. I didn’t want to leave my kingdom. Tonight, though, I pledge to get up off my hiney for longer than it takes to fry up some eggs and create a nourishing meal for my young ‘uns.

After they go to bed, I’ll visit the stupid Keflings.

Kicking stupid Keflings is fun. Image via Ninjabee.

7 Responses to “Stupid Keflings”

  1. aplaceforrene February 17, 2012 at 4:38 am #

    The entire time I read this thinking of the Gelflings… from the Dark Crystal.

    Yeah, good luck with that time suck.

    My son asked me, just yesterday, “What games do you play mom?” I don’t.

    Of course I didn’t explain to him my time suck of FB and pintrest…

    • That Nolen Chick February 17, 2012 at 8:41 am #

      Mommies’ time sucks are so boring to children, yet so captivating to us. Except for the stupid Keflings. Kids always want to watch.

  2. Emelda February 17, 2012 at 7:08 am #

    Luckily the Wii went with the ex to his house, so no electronicals here. Except the iPad. Oh the iPad. It is the devil, in case you didn’t know. Jigsaw puzzles on the iPad are like Ben & Jerry’s coffee Heath bar ice cream – pure joy. Combine it with my 20 different podcasts I follow daily (I get behind of course), and there’s my electronical addiction. I am a podcast junkie. Thanks to BBC, NPR, TED Talks, Slate, WNYC, Texas Tribune, Stuff… series – I rarely watch TV, or listen to what Hannah is telling me. I stay up too late, thinking “just one more podcast, it will be okay, I’ll stay awake at work, I know I can.” But just because I have a problem, doesn’t mean I’m ready to give it up. 😉

    • That Nolen Chick February 17, 2012 at 8:42 am #

      I totally understand the “one more” mentality. Even with the ability to nap here at home during the day, I don’t because I feel guilty that I’m sleepy. Now if I had stayed up late with sick kids, that would be a different story, but the bleary-eyed mornings of my own doing don’t merit a nap.

  3. Steve Taylor February 17, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    Hi! This is Steve, the lead designer of A Kingdom for Keflings. A friend pointed this blog post out to me. Thanks for the very entertaining read, and I offer my apologies to your kids for their lack of clean clothes. (Wait… maybe they should do their own dang laundry!)

    I can’t help but mention A World of Keflings, the sequel, which I’m confident you will like! But hey, I’m plenty happy that you liked Kingdom, and that you wrote this awesome post. 🙂

    • That Nolen Chick February 17, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

      Steve, you totally made my night! I managed to finish the kingdom last night, but now two of my kids have started playing. I do not foresee an end to kingdom building anytime soon in our household.

      I knew there was a sequel, but I’ve kept my distance from it. I’ve heard there are more things to build and more places to visit…if I buy the game, my kids will turn into dirty little waif-like creatures with naught but raggedy clothing to wear because dear Mommy will be sucked into the land of Keflings again.

      Maybe I’ll get it over the summer.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Songs for Moms « that nolen chick - February 18, 2012

    […] be happy to know that I’ve managed to kick my Kefling habit. It was incredibly hard – took days and days of intense therapy to get to the root of the […]

Talk to me!

