I’m Going Into Hiding

20 Feb

Today is President’s Day. Because hubs works for a government facility, he has the day off. The kids are out of school, too. Unlike corporate America, who believes I should buy some furniture to celebrate the births of Washington and Lincoln, I’m going to spend as much of the day in solitary confinement as possible.

Lincoln Memorial

See - just sitting there. Not buying a sofa with a matching loveseat. Image via Wikipedia

I’m sure the fam can survive a few hours without me – honestly, I’m only going to be a mile away. My plan for the day is to plow through the edits of my memoir manuscript. After removing the 337 occurrences of very, really, totally, and marvelous, I’m now working on rewriting all of the “was” sentences. Harder than you might think. I don’t know yet if I’ll go the pen & paper route, or if I’ll do the rewrites directly on my laptop. I did the p & P thing for the first section and it was TOUGH because I had to figure out what in the world I wrote on the paper. But there was something about it that worked, too. I don’t know. It’ll depend on my mood, I suppose.

So my plan is to gather my manuscript and my laptop and I’ll go into hiding for as long as I can stand it. I give it 3 hours. I should probably bring a thermos of coffee. Or a 2 liter of Diet Coke. I can’t bring any snacks – have you tried writing while eating? Not two things that should be done simultaneously.

I’ve been looking forward to this all weekend. Why? Because I’m going to be alone. ALONE. And I can get some work done. I feel like I’m thisclose to getting this bad boy in submission-ready form and I want to be done with it. Not counting the 6 months it took me to write it, I’ve been laboring over this manuscript for 5 years.  “Laboring over” might be too strong a phrase. I’ve been playing at editing it for 5 years. I’m not sick of it (yet), but I need to be finished.

Hopefully my secret writing place will be just what I need to get this puppy finished. I’ll let you know tomorrow.

2 Responses to “I’m Going Into Hiding”

  1. iampotassium February 20, 2012 at 7:56 am #

    Good luck!

    • That Nolen Chick February 21, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

      *sigh* It wasn’t as long as I’d hoped, but it was still productive time.

Talk to me!

