Just Not Feeling It This Week

23 Feb

I don’t know exactly what “it” is, but it’s not happening this week.

We began the week with a three day weekend – I think that was my first problem. Granted, hubs ran herd on the kiddos for most of Monday, but my schedule was still off. Tuesday, I was 30 minutes late to my morning Bible study and was totally unrepentant about it. Nobody beat me about the head and shoulders with their Bibles, so that helped, too. I also took a three hour nap Tuesday afternoon. Three. Hours. Who does that if they don’t have an infant waking them at all hours of the night? Apparently, I do that.

I assumed I’d go to bed at a reasonable hour Tuesday night (which I did) and arise rested and ready for the day Wednesday morning (which I did not). I dragged my sorry self out of bed 3 minutes after hubs had gone to get kids up for school. At least I dressed in my workout clothes, knowing I’d go to the gym after the big 3 kids got off to school. I worked out. For an hour. At what Weight Watchers considers “high” intensity. For me, that meant my legs were shaking like jelly for about 45 minutes. I chose to work out on the Adaptive Movement Trainer. Have you seen one of those? It’s like an elliptical and a stair-stepper got married and had a bionic child.

I put in 30 minutes on that bad boy while watching the last part of the episode of CSI where the miniature killer took Sarah and then the beginning of the next episode when they caught the miniature killer and rescued Sarah, then I switched to a recumbent bike and did 30 more minutes and watched the rest of that CSI. I love machines with TVs. I hate the stupid cable ads (transvaginal mesh lawsuits, anyone? ick), but that’s when I check e-mail, Twitter, and FB on my phone.

After that good start to the day, I came home and wrecked it all. I had 10 of hubs’s chocolate caramel oatmeal bars. TEN. For those of you playing at home, that’s 40 Weight Watcher points. I get 27 in a day. My hour-long workout earned me 13. Yeah, I ate my whole day’s worth of points including exercise on hubs’s Sunday boredom-buster project. He bakes when he’s bored. I eat when I’m bored.

Then my lovely children came home from school. Our school district has noon dismissal on Wednesdays for elementary schools. I hate it. Totally cuts my productivity off at the knees. Not that I was knee-deep into anything good anyway.

I’m trying to figure out a clever way to finish this post, but it’s not coming. Sorry. If there were more chocolate caramel oatmeal bars, I’d finish with one of those, but they’re all gone.

One Response to “Just Not Feeling It This Week”

  1. Melissa February 23, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    I totally feel you – it’s been the same for me this week, and on top of it, the kiddos are in a funk as well. Next week will be better!

Talk to me!

