Twitter is Not the Boss of Me

27 Feb

Darn you, Twitter.

Just when I get my act together and tear myself away from checking Facebook every 3 minutes, I go and get a Twitter account. If you have a problem keeping off Facebook, trying to keep your sanity while having a Twitter account will kill you. I follow 384-ish people on Twitter, most of whom I have never met. I think I actually knew 11 of these people before I followed them. Many of these other 373 people I follow because of their relationship with mom blogs, writing, or publishing. I tell myself that Twitter is good for my platform and I spend a shameful amount of time every day scrolling through “old” posts to make sure I haven’t missed anything.

For those of you not on Twitter, an “old” post is anything over 30 minutes old. This is just my opinion. I’m sure that there is an official Twitter definition of when a post is “old,” but we’re going to go with mine for this blog post today.

Just a little while ago, I had to clear the notification off my smartphone that I had 1843 new Twitter posts. This is just from the time I left home to go work out until after I came home, ate lunch, and showered. So roughly 3 hours. I’m going nuts trying to keep up.

This is how Twitter makes me feel.

And the sad thing? I keep telling myself “I’m building platform. I’m building platform.” In reality, I’m snooping on other people’s (completely public) Twitter conversations, following links to useful and not-so-useful writing sites, and occasionally reading someone’s blog. I have 274 followers as of right now. When I look at my blog stats to see how many people have stopped by to point and laugh at my life, how many do you think came here from Twitter? Five. Or three. Or one. Depends on the day. The vast majority of visitors come from Facebook or have subscribed to get e-mail delivery of my daily bouts of verbal diarrhea.

To those of you who come back day after day: thank you. I am truly thankful that you spend a few moments of your valuable time over in my teeny tiny corner of the internet. Actually, I don’t think I even rank high enough to get my own corner. I just have a little spot. Thanks for coming to my spot.

I have uninstalled the app on my phone that thinks it’s necessary to buzz me every 10 minutes with an updated count of how many new tweets I haven’t read yet. It drives me crazy. I have to climb out of this crazy rabbit hole and get back to my real life. I’m still going to be on Twitter, just on my terms (which I haven’t decided yet). Twitter will not be the boss of me. I’m hoping that I can regain some semblance of balance in my life and that I can actually get this stupid manuscript edited.

I am a writer that Tweets, not a Tweeter that writes. Incidentally, that statement leads me to a whole new post (I’m a writer that blogs, not a blogger that writes), but since it’s not Twitter-centric, I’ll leave it for another day. Like tomorrow, maybe.

12 Responses to “Twitter is Not the Boss of Me”

  1. Gina February 27, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    Oh do i hear you there! I first had a personal twitter, then I added a twitter for my Book Blogging…I skim the book blogger one and use lists to keep up on the people I know in real life on the personal one!

  2. Colline February 27, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    I have found that Twitter has not really brough any visitors to my blog – though they did follow me from my blog. I have decided that following the tweets religiously every 30 or so minutes is not really worth it.

    • That Nolen Chick February 28, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

      My life has been much less stressful since I demoted Twitter, that’s for sure.

  3. Jonathan Humphreys February 27, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    “I have uninstalled the app on my phone that thinks it’s necessary to buzz me every 10 minutes with an updated count of how many new tweets I haven’t read yet. It drives me crazy.”

    Perhaps a little extreme. You can disable notifications on the iOS at least, and I’d assume that the same would apply to other versions too, if the developers have the sense. 😐

    • That Nolen Chick February 28, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

      I actually only removed TweetCaster. I still have Twitter, and it’s nice and quiet.

  4. Motherhood on the Rocks February 27, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    I struggle with the same exact thing. I often lose myself in inordinate amounts of time spent tweeting (aka reading everyone else’s tweets) and don’t even get me started on Pinterest. sigh

  5. Chrissy February 27, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

    Hilarious and so true!!!!!!

    • That Nolen Chick February 28, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

      I’ve only perused Twitter once today and only for a couple of minutes. My day has been nice and calm, that’s for sure.

      • Chrissy February 28, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

        I don’t even know how to really use it, but apparently people are actually following me…

  6. kksorrell February 29, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

    Well, ya have more followers than I do, so I’m jealous! I still haven’t hit the big 1-0-0. (Though it might help if I followed more people on Twitter.)

    As for Twitter, I completely agree! It makes me tired. But I can’t let it go. It’s such a good way to network with other writers. And get a good laugh a lot of times. 🙂 Like you, I have all the cell phone notification stuff turned off. I don’t want to be constantly staring at my phone.

    Good luck!

    P.S. I’m doing a Lenten Reflections series with guest bloggers every Sunday of Lent. Send me a piece of writing if you’re interested! (See my blog for details.)

Talk to me!

