What’s in Your Heart? A Squirrel, Maybe?

8 Apr

So there’s a joke I love. It goes like this:

There’s a Sunday school teacher telling a story to her preschool class. Due to a momentary brain fart, she can’t remember one specific word in the tale.

“What’s the name of that animal? It’s small, furry, brown, and collects nuts. I can’t think of it. Someone help me out.”

A little boy speaks up, “It sounds like you’re talking about a squirrel, but since we’re in church, the answer has to be ‘Jesus.'”

Makes me giggle every time.

I have Jesus in my heart. Sounds like a simplistic thing a child would say. Works for me. Here are some of the reasons I’m Team Jesus:

  • I like knowing there’s something bigger than me.
  • I find comfort in knowing the Something Bigger Than Me loves me.
  • I’m relieved that the standard of living to which I adhere wasn’t thought up by other fallible people, but by the Creator of the Universe.
  • I’m intrigued that the same Holy Spirit that lives within me also lives in other believers around the world and throughout time.
  • My hope is based on the Rock of Ages. He’s unshakable. He beat death.

I serve a risen Savior! Happy Easter!

What’s in your heart?

6 Responses to “What’s in Your Heart? A Squirrel, Maybe?”

  1. Rich Kenney April 8, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    Love your story. Happy Easter.

  2. iampotassium April 8, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    I love it (the post, the joke, Jesus (sorry for calling you an “it” Jesus), Easter, etc)! Yay you’re back! 🙂

    • That Nolen Chick April 9, 2012 at 10:46 am #

      I am a firm believer that God has a fabulous sense of humor. Platypus, anyone?

      It’s nice to be back. 😀

  3. aplaceforrene April 8, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    A- I was excited to see a post from you. B- I got to tell my “Jewish” Grandfather that it is because of Jesus he could safely eat the ham and shrimp served today 🙂
    (yeah you or back!)

    • That Nolen Chick April 9, 2012 at 10:47 am #

      Thanks for the encouraging words!
      How was the ham and shrimp?

Talk to me!

