I Painted My Bedroom TARDIS Blue

16 Apr

If the title of the post didn’t tip you off, I’m a “Doctor Who” fan. I wouldn’t consider myself a rabid fangirl, but I do enjoy the show. I’ve seen every episode since the 2005 reboot, but I can’t tell you details about many of those eps. There are some I really enjoyed and have seen multiple times, but I can’t spout interesting tidbits about the cast, script, or other off-screen things.

My favorite Doctor was David Tennant, the 10th doc, but Matt Smith, Doctor #11 is growing on me. I have a few DW-related things in my house that other people have given me, like this cool mug from Think Geek. The TARDIS disappears off one side and reappears on the other when you put a hot liquid in it. Sadly, I don’t use it much because it can’t go in the microwave. I also have the 10th Doctor’s Sonic Screwdriver, but it’s really just a blue flashlight.

For Christmas last year, my husband went out on a limb and bought me some art. Specifically, some Doctor Who art. He found these two prints on Etsy. I didn’t even realize he knew what Esty was. You have to click over to see the pieces. They’re awesome. Here’s his favorite, and here’s my favorite. He also found some really cool Harry Potter prints.

I decided to put all of these uber-geeky and totally fabulous prints in our bedroom, since we haven’t really done anything remotely resembling decoration in there in the 8 years we’ve lived here. As I sat admiring my husband’s successful foray into original and thoughtful gift purchasing, I made another decision: my bland off-white room needed some color. The only variation of color we had on the walls were the dirty squares where I presume the previous owner had hung art or pictures. I’d lived in this bland and depressing room long enough. You’ve probably already guessed the color I chose from the post’s title. The official name is “lapis,” but it’s really TARDIS Blue.

While hubs had the kids at his parents’ house for spring break (I do have a fabulous husband, don’t I?), I painted our room. Right before I started the project, I decided that we also needed a new headboard. We’d been using the same one for 15-ish years and it was time to replace it. Lest you think I was being wasteful, let me tell you about our old headboard. It was king-sized. We have a queen bed, and have always had a queen bed. We bought it at a garage sale for $25 because we figured it was better than nothing. It was a fuzzy velveteen-ish fabric that attracted dust and cat hair. It was maroon. Had it been blue, I might have been able to overlook the other problems with it and kept it for my new TARDIS room.

After scouring the internet for ideas on a cheap but attractive headboard, I decided that I would make one of those padded headboards so that I could cover it with TARDIS-coordinating fabric, but that I would hit the local Habitat for Humanity ReStore (thrift store for construction materials & furniture) first, just in case there was something salvageable there. Guess what I found? This gem:

What a lovely gem

Despite the fact that it looks like something from a 1960s Mexican food restaurant, it fit the bill. I envisioned painting it a glossy black to go with my gray bedding and TARDIS walls. However, after spending a few moments with Martha Stewart at Home Depot, I decided to do something else with it. It ended up looking like this after two coats of white paint and two coats of Martha’s “Black Coffee” metallic glaze:

I might try to do those little nightstands the same way. You know, in my scads of free time.

A couple of days after spring break, the final touch for my room arrived in the mail. I had a Groupon for some Wall Pops merchandise, so I bought a border. This stuff is cool. It’s repositionable vinyl, and there are scads of patterns and styles to choose from. As you can see, I chose a black and white pattern called “Tangier.”

So for Christmas, Hubs didn’t just get me some cool fangirl prints, but a whole new bedroom. Wonder if he’d do it again if he knew a bedroom makeover is what the outcome would be…

One Response to “I Painted My Bedroom TARDIS Blue”

  1. Laura April 16, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    Very, very cool! Love how the headboard turned out.

Talk to me!

